We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Weir View House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Weir View House to your Saves list
Weir View House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Shooters Hill, Pangbourne RG8 7DZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pangbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Copacabana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Homely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Friendly, welcoming and yet professional. A good view of the Thames from our room. The room was large and the bed huge and comfy. Mini bar fridge and a very good breakfast. A good restaurant/bar across the road. Good pubs nearby as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    7
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
26
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Middleton Cheney, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

pretty little guest houseon the thames with a homely welcome.
The only thing I would say is they could perhaps improve on the breakfast a little to be in keeping with the high standards elsewhere. Maybe some homemade jam, or scones.... or a bigger selection of breads to toast.....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

A seemingly purpose built Guest House on the A329 close to the centre of Pangbourne. Our double ensuite room had plenty of space and a view of the river too. A minibar offered soft drinks and snacks with an honesty box, and there was the usual selection of teabags, sachets of Nescafe and of course a kettle. There were plenty of sockets to recharge phones and computers, no reliance upon adaptors or extension leads.

The ensuite bathroom was large, the bath being a welcome feature. Hot water was no problem, we both had baths after arriving and it took no time to fill the standard size bathtub.

The king size bed was very comfortable. The lighting in the room took some working out - bedside lights controlled by a main switch as well as the switch on the lamp - and the main lighting was by means of wall uplighters with economy bulbs which took some time to warm up. The window being offset from the centre of the room, lighting was in fact something of a problem - the lights provided were not sufficient to see the inside of the wardrobe properly. There was also no light over the dressing table, the small mirror being close to the window meant this was less of a problem during the day, but when there is no natural light it would be barely usable.

Weir View Guest House does not offer evening meals: we went to the Swan pub, directly opposite, and enjoyed a lovely meal with wine, coffee and liqueurs for around £85. The town centre is not far away and has other pubs and restaurants, and a Co-op supermarket where sandwiches and such like can be bought.

We only had two pillows on the bed: there was an extra one in the wardrobe but to be honest in a room of this style, at £90 per night and AA 4 star rated, I would have expected two each, and perhaps some extra cushions. There was also only one chair - in a room of this size I would have expected two. There didn't seem to be a full length mirror in the room either.

There was an informative brochure in the room, and a great deal of literature relating to tourist attractions in the area in reception. Also in reception there was a printout of the weather forecast, unfortunately it seemed to be a few days out of date - we stayed on a Tuesday night and the first day of the forecast was a Friday.

Weir View Guest House does not offer a cooked breakfast. The continental selection was good - cheese, ham, cereal, prunes, grapefruit, muffins, crumpets, toast, orange or apple juice, tea or coffee. But it is very much a help-yourself affair, and there were no croissants or other pastries. The breakfast room only accommodates 8 people - four tables for two - and slots have to be booked the night before - it could get busy at peak times.

Weir View is close to both the A329 road and the railway line: we did not find noise from either an issue, nor were we disturbed by noise from other guests. There is in fact a gate from their car park into the railway station approach road, and, in their car park, a boundary marker for the Great Western Railway, probably dating from the date it was first built by Brunel over a century and a half ago.

In short - comfortable and convenient, with a few drawbacks and idiosyncrasies that may or may not be of significance depending on individual circumstances.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed here on business April 2013 - a pleasure from reserving to checking out, nice personal service unlike alot of hotels, probably because it's a B&B, but the Weir View's rooms are better than many hotels! Stayed in the Shiplake room which is huge, luxurious, clean and comfortable. Bed was extremely comfortable, lovely soft towels and bathrobe provided. The continental breakfast provided was very good. The owner is very pleasant and friendly. Complimentary toiletries provided. Would definately stay here again and recommend to all, it was a pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We arrived an hour earlier than expected but were warmly welcomed and our room was ready. The room was tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. The bed was comfortable and the en suite well equipped. The continental breakfast was very good with lots of choices , the breakfast room again immaculate. We would not hesitate to recommend this guest house and would stay there again when in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here on a Saturday night during a weekend walking on the Thames Path. We had an executive double and our friends had another executive double. The service was very good - they let us check in early and check out a bit late to accommodate our plans. We were disappointed to have the only room in the place without a view of the river - we overlooked the car park. For a £105 suite we felt we should have had a view of the river. The room was very comfortable and the shower was excellent. Breakfast was disappointing - the quality of the food in the continental breakfast was not great. This b&b was comfortable, friendly and with good service but for £105 per night it is an expensive option and we expected more for it.
Top tip is to have dinner at The Swan pub over the road - the food was great and very reasonable. They have a pretty terrace by the river.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I picked the Weir View as our bolt hole from a wedding we were going to nearby.

The ladies who own the place were very accommodating with our request for an early check in (noon - normally 2pm) We had a lovely room facing the river.

The room is a good size with a big super king size bed, tea and coffee facilities and a mini bar (not free but very good value). The bed in my opinion was not the most comfortable, unless you like firmer beds.

The bathroom is a good size with bath and shower combined, although there was black in the tile grout and the shower head probably needs a clean to remove lime scale. I also think the extractor fan is a bit knackered as we ended up steaming out the whole bathroom and bedroom!

The breakfast was to be honest a bit of a letdown. Probably due to it being a Sunday and there not being many staff on, we arrived after a family had been and they had devoured everything on the table! The items were replenished a bit later, but by then we wanted to move on. It would be good to offer a cooked breakfast as well.

This is the first review I feel torn writing it, as I do think it was a very sweet place and the lady who was working that weekend was charming. But at the price we paid, you do expect things to be at a higher standard, especially breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for one which looks out to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Weir View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weir View House

Address: 9 Shooters Hill, Pangbourne RG8 7DZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Pangbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pangbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Weir View House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Weir View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weir View Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Weir View House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.