We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious steak lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The George Hotel to your Saves list
The George Hotel
The Square, Pangbourne RG8 7AJ, England (Formerly Three SeasonsThe George Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Pangbourne
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious steak lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I enjoyed a delicious steak lunch in the restaurant on 29th November. The sirloin steak was a little on the thin side but juicy and tasty. The vegetables were cooked al dente, just how we like them.
Rita from Lithuania was an attentive and delightful waitress.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgeh0tel, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello Chris
Thanks for the positive comments. I note what you say about the size of the steak. We do the 150g, but perhaps it is time to go for a bigger size. For now, the important thing is that our Chef continues to do a wonderful job.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
13
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just had a steak meal and it was perfect, food was well presented, service was good, owner was even there making sure we were happy and what we thought as it's under new management (just a few months). As we told him food was excellent and especially for the price (could easily charge more as only £14 for good sirloin steak, chips, fresh veg and a mushroom sauce). Only down side was it could do with a lick of paint as very plain and cold feeling to it (which manager said will be done in time as he updated whole place). Think when we go back in a few months it will be looking different as they are planning to do more to it. My only thing.... Don't change the Chef as the food was amazing, steak done exactly to order and the home made curry was delicious. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgeh0tel, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Michelle
A real big thanks for this feedback. It is a fantastic boost to staff, and helps to keep the improvements coming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a week for work and I found it was ideal as it catered for all my needs, the room I stayed in was spacious and included freeview, shampoos and plenty of tea and coffee.I found the staff to be very friendly and the full English breakfast in the morning was tasty.I would definitely stay here again and recommended to others.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgeh0tel, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
A real thanks fo taking the time to sendr your positive feedback. Really appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We were in the area and rang to see if they had rooms available. The chap who answered the telephone struggled to understand us and was not helpful in giving directions. We arrived to an empty reception area and it took quite some time before somebody dealt with us. We were shown to our rooms which were grubby, dated and in need of updating. The mattresses were very uncomfortable - a bit like staying in your old granny's house. Bathroom was clean but again has seen a lot of wear and tear. Breakfast was a complete disaster. Dirty, filthy table settings. No server. The chef came to take our order. We sat in a freezing cold room and the fry that was served was inedible. Couldn't wait to escape the place and will not be going back. Too expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgeh0tel, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
I really disppointing commentary. We are not shy in accepting reasonable critiism and in resolving faults. I do not know what the reason is for this commentary, but it is not fair. I won't persuade you, but will make a few small points.
We do not have someone posted at reception all of the time. There is a bell on the desk, and it is loud enough to be heard in the bar. Had you used this, it would have taken seconds to see you. Breakfast tables are cleaned at night and made ready for the morning. If any tales were not cean, this will be because guests would have used them and we had not had a chance to clear before your arrival, sorry if that is the case.
I cannot comment on the communication about the directions, my staff do not recall that conversation.
It would have been helpful to have spoken with one of us at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pangbourne hotels

Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for work, although it is an old hotel the room was clean and had plenty of tea and coffee. The one thing that was really good about this hotel was the friendliness of the hotel staff and the local people that used the hotel. The breakfast in the morning was good. I would stay here when in the area again. I am an heavy sleeper so the high speed trains that run close by did not bother me but this could be a problem for a light sleeper

Room Tip: would ask for a room away from train tracks as high speed trains pass quite close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgeh0tel, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks.
The train line in Pangbourne has its advantages for transport, but it does mean that we, and the other hotels in the area, suffer from the disturbance at peak hours.
I am really glad that our emphasis on cleanliness is paying off and our guests are noticing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Amazing stay at a very old hotel. The staff did everything to make our stay a fantastic experience. The food was incredible and we will be going back for a meal - even if the occasion doesn't warrant an overnight stay. Can't recommend this place enough. Just ask and they will do all they can to help.

Room Tip: Room 10 was lovely and although it was by the road the double glazing blocked out any noise. Very wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgeh0tel, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks.
As a family run hotel, we do take great pride in putting our customers first. Its great when this is noticed. Look forward to meeting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Two nights in the George over this last weekend. Sun/Monday. Twin room 28 very small for 2 people .Arrived to the news that breakfast was not included well what a surprise that was. We did how ever get breakfast that was not charged for. The room/halls/ landings were clean our bathroom needs an up date also damp around bedroom window. Breakfast on the second day was poor no milk/o juice/ butter or marmalade. Basic breakfast cereal with 2 choices.Lots of area's need improving.

Room Tip: Don't bother. Family seem nice but lack no how.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgeh0tel, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2014
I think we will have to agree to differ.
You arrived at reception, quite aggressive from what you said was a hard day.
You had booked through the booking agent and chose room only, no meals. It should not a have been a surprise that breakfast was not included. I showed you the booking receipt which stated quite clearly that it was room only. I then offered you free breakfast to make peace and do not deserve what you have written. Your husband was delighted with the breakfast, and went out of his way to tell me. The milk etc were all on the main table, you just had to help yourself.
I am always willing to say sorry when we have erred, but this one is unreasonable to the extreme.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: The Square, Pangbourne RG8 7AJ, England (Formerly Three SeasonsThe George Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Pangbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Pangbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Previously a Coaching Inn, The George Hotel has accommodated guests for over 400 years. Today, we pride ourselves on the traditional and welcoming service we continue to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pangbourne
Pangbourne Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.