We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Elephant at Pangbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Elephant at Pangbourne to your Saves list
The Elephant at Pangbourne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Church Rd, Pangbourne RG8 7AR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pangbourne
foxiileigh
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed here just for one night to get a break from the city and I felt as rested as if we'd stayed a week. The welcome was very warm at the front desk and my toddler loved all the elephant statues around. We were early for check in but we were offered a choice of rooms. We stayed in the garden annex in the Ocean Liner room and I couldn't have been happier. The decor was beautiful, as was the view over the garden. You could see care had been taken in the set up of the room and the complimentary shot by the bed was something to look forward to!
Just a short walk away was the river meadow by the Thames which was extremely family friendly and peaceful.
We went for Dinner/Bed and Breakfast with the option of a late check out on Sunday for with lunch. The food was good, the portions were plentiful but the really outstanding thing was the staff. They were SO helpful, really considerate of our child and really keen to make sure we had everything we needed. We will definitely be back. Thanks again!

Room Tip: Ocean Liner is set back from the road on the first floor. Just lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave some valuable feedback regarding your stay with us.
I am so pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Peter Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    58
    30
    11
    8
See reviews for
19
95
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed here for two nights for my wedding weekend. We chose this hotel as having stayed here previously and at other Hillbrooke hotels we knew that the staff would go above and beyond to make our day special – our expectations were surpassed and we couldn’t have asked for a better place to not only host our wedding but to stay.

The night of arrival there was a party going on so the day before we arrived both myself and other guests booked in for the Friday night were contacted and asked if we would like to move to the annexe area of the hotel to ensure a better night’s sleep. We all decided to keep the rooms we were in and didn’t suffer from any noise however the offer to move us was appreciated.

We ate lunch and dinner in the bar and were happy with not only the quality of the food but the service that accompanied it. There was a good selection of locally sourced food and also a few of the drinks were locally produced too. The bar menu offered a variety of meals and snacks to choose from. Breakfast was served in the restaurant where there was a continental buffet and then a selection of hot dishes to choose from which were all delicious.

All the rooms are individually decorated with great attention to detail which goes towards its ‘quirky luxury’ feel. The room was spacious and the bed was incredibly comfortable. There was a tea and coffee tray which included hot chocolate, mineral water and speciality teas so something for everyone. The bathroom was nicely decorated and very clean, with a good shower and a lovely selection of toiletries. The Saturday night the hotel was fully booked with guests from our wedding party and all of them have since commented on how lovely all the rooms were and what a good night’s sleep they had!

The staff at this hotel go out of their way to ensure that you have a good stay and I would highly recommend it for a break away. This is definitely a hotel where the small touches are used to maximum effect ensuring guests have a great stay. Each member of staff always greeted us with a smile and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. The Reception staff were even able to arrange an early check in for two guests who had flown in from abroad which really helped them out. A special mention to Irene and the other ladies working in the bar and restaurant too as they worked so hard and seemed to be at the hotel 24/7!

I would highly recommend this hotel for not only a special event but also as a break away as it is full of charm and character, and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for you kind review. It was our pleasure to host your special day.

Kind regards

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Clare, Rep. Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Having stayed in the Elephant at Pangbourne for three days recently, I have to say it was just wonderful and I enjoyed every minute of my stay. Elephants is various shapes and sizes adorn the dining room, reception, bar and bedrooms which brings an Eastern twist to the whole ambience. Even the bedroom keys had wooden elephants hanging off them. All bedrooms are themed and my room was bordering a Moroccan boudoir. What can I say only it was gorgeous. The tray in my rooms was filled with various teas and there was even a Cafetiere with a great selection of coffees. The breakfast menu was extensive and food very tasty. The staff were so friendly especially the Portuguese girls working in the restaurant and bar. The atmosphere was lovely in the bar in the evenings and the gardens behind the hotel were well kept and had various nooks and crannies filled with flowers and wooden seating. I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone who wants a central location and bit of something out the ordinary. FABULOUS.

Room Tip: Any room !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us.

Peter Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had a lovely Saturday night stay at The Elephant. The reception staff were all very friendly. Our room was smashing, done like an old fashion cruise ship , very comfortable with huge bed. Lovely tea and coffee tray and free apperitif. The evening meal was lovely and the waitress very friendly and helpful.
Our only feedback would be that some of the paint work looks a little jaded and whilst it was fine on this visit it would be a shame if it got any worse. Being picky we could also do with a bowl for the used tea bags on the tea tray. Lovely pub / Inn very suitable for a romantic night away. We will be back , thank you.

Room Tip: We had room 19 which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback. Good suggestion for the used tea bag bowl on the trays... thank you. We have a constant rolling decoration programme and whilst we like ‘quirky luxury’ we certainly don’t want ‘jaded luxury’ – we’re on it!

Peter Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, Kent
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Possibly it was me- having looked at the website I was expecting a quirky, Indian themed hotel with lots of bright colours a la Bollywood. What I got was a rather dingy mish-mash of faded photos of maharajahs intermingled with pictures of English hunting scenes.
It didn't start off well either as my friend and I, both happily married and heterosexual, were shown to a double bedded room. The receptionist at first insisted that our booking, made through Laterooms.com, was for a double bedded room and that nothing else was available. (Having checked the reservation on my return home, we definitely asked for twin beds. Perhaps the information wasn't passed on?) Anyway, she did eventually give us two separate rooms at no additional cost which made us feel much more kindly disposed to the place. Well done, her.
My room was small but adequate. The bathroom was clean but the shower didn't work at all.
We ate in the bar and the meal was pretty mediocre. Breakfast, however, was a tour de force, with a wide range of freshly cooked dishes, including a number of fish choices as well as the usual English breakfast.
Would try to find somewhere else if I needed to be in the area but would pop in for breakfast if I could!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
I am sorry that we did not get your booking correct for a twin room, which, as you allude to, can sometimes be difficult on the information flows when not booking direct with the hotel. We would love to see you again for breakfast! However we really hope you will stay and eat with us again as we usually get great feedback on the bar food.

Peter Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Attended a friends wedding here at the weekend and really enjoyed it.
Our room was great, lovely bed, really nicely decorated, with plenty of tea and coffee to keep us going in the room. Great value for money!
The staff were superb, very helpful, friendly and attentive.
Food at the wedding was great. Unfortunately we didn’t make it to breakfast, but we hear it was very nice.
The lounge area was very nice with big comfy sofa's and made a great break out area from the main party.
The only disappointing factor was the freezing cold shower in the morning – the boiler apparently turned itself off during the night and by the time they realised it was early morning.
Just one of those things but the staff apologised which was nice.
Would definately consider this hotel if I needed to be in this area again.
One thing to note, parking at the hotel is really limited but parking is available cheaply right near by.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for your review, again our sincere apologies regarding the boiler issue which was rectified as soon as we were aware. I am glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, especially the food.

Kind regards
Peter Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend. The hotel is not as bad as the reviews suggest:
Bar: absolutely nothing wrong with the bar, bit shabby but ok
Rooms: some seem to renovated and are nice. Bathroom , especially plumbing is poor. Unfortunately totally overpriced for what it is.
Breakfast: continental is included but very very basic. Full English is extra but well worth it. Very nice!!
Trains: their there but to fair not something that bothered me. Close your window folks and you have silence!!
All in all, for that price not a place I would stay again - get you value for money right and I'll be back

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for posting a review, I am sorry to hear that you did not feel your stay was value for money. I am confused regarding the breakfast surcharge as all of our rates include full and continental breakfast and I apologise if this was not made clear to you.
I do hope that in light of this you may visit us again.

Kind regards,
Peter Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Elephant at Pangbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant at Pangbourne

Address: 3 Church Rd, Pangbourne RG8 7AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Pangbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pangbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Elephant at Pangbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant offers its guests an experience of quirky luxury and a warm welcome, whether staying overnight, dining in the restaurant, or having a relaxed drink in the bar. All 22 bedrooms are individual and furnished with handcrafted furniture, rich ornamental rugs and opulent fabrics. The bar, known as Babar, has a bistro feel, serving simple but excellent British produce, while the restaurant offers beautifully cooked unpretentious food in elegant surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Elephant at Pangbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elephant At Pangbourne Hotel Pangbourne
The Elephant Hotel Pangbourne
The Elephant Pangbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Elephant at Pangbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.