We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Wrong Selection :-(” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Raleigh Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Raleigh Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   421 S. Salisbury St., Raleigh, NC 27601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #41 of 83 Hotels in Raleigh
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Wrong Selection :-(”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Was there in March for couple of nights
+ve
1. the downtown location,
2. the sun-filled atrium on the lobby level,
3. the rooms (specially on the higher levels with nice morning and evening views)
4. Staff (specially porter service for taxi - very punctual and nice cabs)
-ve
1. This is a personal mistake as I wanted to stay closure to RTP but picked up the wrong Sheraton (should have selected Sheraton Imperial instead).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonRaleighMgt, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Raleigh Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay. We take pride in our warm and welcoming environment and associates. We hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    123
    119
    39
    27
See reviews for
55
68
24
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilson, North Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed here for a few nights during a convention. The rooms are small and need a makeover. The bathrooms needed new paint and tile work. The shower had mold growing in the cracks and the bathroom had a dirty cleaner smell. The furniture in the room looked very old and used. The desk chair was all bit falling apart and the carpet needs replacing. I will say the staff is super friendly and helpful. For the price I will be staying at the hotel right next door in the future.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonRaleighMgt, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Raleigh Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience with our associates. We want to apologize for the status of your room. We are working toward improving our guest rooms. We hope to welcome you back in the future, so that we may exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Here are the good things: the downtown location, the sun-filled atrium on the lobby level, the restaurant for DINNER (not breakfast...see below), the rooms (at least the ones on the SPG level).
Here are the not-so-good things: the downtown location comes with concerts and other noise at street level that carries up to the rooms and/or mucks-up traffic when driving back to the hotel; the breakfast menu at the restaurant is lackluster, at best; the restaurant service is poor-to-mediocre at both dinner and breakfast; charging for bottled water.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonRaleighMgt, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Raleigh Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
We appreciate the time you took to provide us with feedback. We apologize that everything during your stay did not exceed expectations, and we are working to improve upon our performance. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Downtown as well as the atrium. We hope that we can welcome you back in the future, so that we may exceed all expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
millbrae, ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Fantastic stay Staff went all the way to make us feel at home we were there 11 days and it felt like we were there overnight. True southern hospitality and this is from a Californian who has some very high standards

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonRaleighMgt, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Raleigh Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the Sheraton Raleigh Hotel. We take pride in our warm and welcoming associates. Thank you for your valuable feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

My room was nice, but nothing spectacular compared to other Sheraton's I've stayed at. The furniture was dirty and starting to wear, the mattress was like a concrete slab. Parking was interesting, ......you had to go past the hotel, take the first right, then take the next immediate right and park in the second garage, fun! Doubt I'll be staying here again, with so many great hotels near by! On the plus side, staff was very nice!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonRaleighMgt, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Raleigh Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. We do apologize that your stay did not exceed all expectations, and for the inconveniences faced with the parking garage. We hope to welcome you back in the future, to show that we can go above and beyond all expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had a recent conference at Sheraton and I can only say the hotel is "OK". The furniture in my room was worn (upholstery on desk chair shredded and leather on headboard needs to be replaced. Shower did not feel clean on the first day, but this was resolved after notifying front desk. Had difficulty connecting with wifi (which was not free). I am Starwood Preferred member, but only stay 5-10 nights/year with chain, which landed me on Starwood preferred floor. Bathroom amenities were nice, they even have shaving cream in rooms. Nice large fluffy towels in bath. Bedding was clean and comfortable. Room has large flat panel TV with easy to use remote. No fridge in room. This being a downtown property, rooms are somewhat noisy. No concierge or valet parking. Parking garage is across the street.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonRaleighMgt, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Raleigh Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. We want to apologize for the upholstery on your desk chair as well as not having valet parking available; we are in the process of changing out the desk chairs in the rooms. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the bathroom amenities as well as the bedding on our Sweet Sleeper Beds. We hope to welcome you back in the future, and truly exceed all your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The room that we had was nothing special, but was nice enough. It was clean and well-furnished with neutral decorations. The room was pretty much the highlight of the hotel. One of my biggest issues with our stay here is that they charged for wi-fi access. In 2014, charging for wi-fi is like charging for cable tv-- it's absolutely ridiculous! Not only do they charge for wi-fi, but they charge for access PER DEVICE! This alone is enough for me to make the determination that I won't stay here again. Wi-fi access is the cost of doing business, offer it free or lose customers. As far as other issues with this hotel...The parking garage was across the street, which isn't a big deal, but instead of giving you a pass that's good for the length of your stay, the hotel gives you a three-day pass that you have to keep track of and get another so you aren't towed. This is inconvenient (especially when you're on vacation and it's easy to lose track of time) and easily fixed if the the hotel cared to address it. There really aren't any decent restaurants within walking distance of this property and the take-out places that are around close super early-- plan on eating by 7pm or so or you might be stuck with the world's worst pizza from down the street (IF they happen to still be open!). The lobby had a strange smell when we were there. It's not exactly a bad or offensive odor, but it's so strong that it's definitely not good, either. I couldn't tell if it was the plants or someone's perfume/cologne, but I'm leaning toward it being a bad mixture of plants because it was there during our entire stay (several days). I'm guessing the hotel caters mostly to business travelers, and for these purposes, it might be an okay stay. My husband and I will look elsewhere if we return to Raleigh.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonRaleighMgt, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Raleigh Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for the taking time to provide us with invaluable feedback. We do apologize that your stay with us did not exceed all expectations, and for the numerous inconveniences you faced during your most recent stay at our establishment. Unfortunately, the hotel does not own the parking deck located across from our front entrance. All parking policies are set in place by the company who runs and operates the parking garage, resulting in parking passes with three-day increments. With over 60 restaurants in walking distance, we are disappointed that an associate wasn’t able to recommend something that catered to your wants and needs. We thank you once again for providing us with feedback, and hope to welcome you back in the future, to give us a chance to exceed all expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Raleigh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Raleigh Hotel

Address: 421 S. Salisbury St., Raleigh, NC 27601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 83 Hotels in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Raleigh Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel is near Raleigh Convention Center, Progress Energy Center for the Performing Arts, and the state capitol. Our hotel has 5,000 sq ft of space for weddings, meetings, and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton Raleigh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Raleigh
Raleigh Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Raleigh Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.