We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Customer Service Before I Arrived” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Raleigh Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Raleigh Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   421 S. Salisbury St., Raleigh, NC 27601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #42 of 80 Hotels in Raleigh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor Customer Service Before I Arrived”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I booked a hotel room for two nights here, but because of circumstances I had to cancel. I called in and heard the recording:

"Press 2 for new reservations only"
"Press 3 for existing reservations"

So I pressed 3. Karen Williams picked up the phone and I explained that I needed to cancel my reservation. She said I need to press #2. I explained that the recording said that #2 was for new reservations only. Before I could finish my sentence I was put back into the loop of the recording. I pressed 3 again because I wanted to finish my sentence with Karen Williams. This time, I heard her pick up and then she hung up on me. I dialed back in (international calls aren't cheap) and pressed 3 again. I asked Karen why she hung up the phone on me. She said I have to press #2. I explained this was very rude, but she didn't seem to understand.

I'd recommend staying at the Marriott if you'd like a better customer service experience ... or at least the Sheraton could teach Karen Williams how to treat customers.

The recording

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    110
    105
    37
    26
See reviews for
51
64
23
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, AL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Had an overall good experience here. Was here for a conference. My room was clean and nice. The Internet was free but just in in speed. Barely adequate. I ordered room service one night and it was good.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Probably would not have chosen this property except we were able to book at corporate rate ($100 + less than advertised rate). Locating the reception desk was a challenge, but we were greeted warmly and was in the room quickly. All amenities are above average...but the bed & bed coverings are a plus....one of the best sleeping beds I have ever enjoyed. Free wifi & self parking.....on-site restaurant & coffee shop (other eateries right outside) ...the only negative I encountered were the myriad of street people who jump on you in succession asking for money (right outside the door of the Hotel) ....there were security guards on duty Friday night late, but not a single one
In-sight at 7:30 am.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRH434, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Raleigh Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback. We have recently added signs in the lower level lobby to direct guests to our newly renovated front desk in the atrium level, which is on the second floor and faces Fayetteville St. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

The service was excellent & everyone at the front desk was very helpful. They arranged a car for us for a very early flight. Just a bit run down - though it looked like they were doing some renovations. The addition of Jimmy V's bar/restaurant is a huge boost - very cool place. Great location downtown, especially if you are going to the convention center.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRH434, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Raleigh Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback. We appreciate your business, and will be sure to notify housekeeping with notes from your observations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Review? One Word....Excellent!!! From check in to the checkout, the staff was wonderful, the rooms were spacious and CLEAN....Beds were to die for!!!! Food at the hotel bar was great....try the Calimari and Rock Fish....you won't be disappointed.

Only complain was the street noise at night....seems like the Skateboard Convention must have been in town...but the hotel has no control.

Room Tip: I was on the 7th Floor and could hear street noise...some family was on the 15th and heard nothing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRH434, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Raleigh Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your most recent feedback. We appreciate your business and certainly look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a major disappointment. It does not live up to the Sheraton name. The room was dingy, the carpet was dirty, and the white hotel reeked of 1978. This hotel has inconvenient parking at a lot across the street. Service was mediocre. If you have to stay downtown, find somewhere else. Better yet, stay away from downtown Raleigh, which is inconvenient, unhip, and generally a hassle for parking for such a small city.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRH434, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Raleigh Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback. We appreciate your observations and agree that the hotel was in need of renovation. We are on the tail end of a multi-million dollar renovation that has redesigned the lobby/welcome spaces, meeting spaces have been given a face-lift, and the brand new Jimmy V's Osteria+Bar has added a great energy to our downtown property. We have also added a pre-stay message to all guests about parking and look forward to showing you all of the new features the Sheraton Raleigh Hotel has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Sheraton Raleigh Hotel is in convenient location where you can easily and safely walk to restaurants, art galleries, entertainment, shops, etc. I highly recommend the area for a long weekend. The hotel was reasonably priced, WiFi was complimentary and parking was inexpensive. Our room on the 12th floor was clean but worn and amenities were very basic. The room was very warm when we checked in and both the AC and heat came on when we tried to cool the room. We had to call twice before someone came to the room. The maintenance person was very professional and told us that many rooms were having the same problem. He was able to fix the system in 10 minutes. There was a very strong musty smell in the room that permeated clothing and luggage. I had to wash or air out everything that we had with us. The hotel did not have a business center available for printing boarding passes. Late at night there was outside noise from a band and people on the plaza.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRH434, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Raleigh Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for leaving feedback from your most recent stay. We truly value your observations and utilize comments to help enhance the overall guest experience. We appreciate your patience during your stay, our engineers worked day and night to remedy the HVAC issues we were experiencing. The Link @ Sheraton Powered by Microsoft is now up and running in the atrium level of the hotel. Additionally, we have added a boarding pass kiosk at the front desk to allow guests to easily print passes on the go.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Raleigh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Raleigh Hotel

Address: 421 S. Salisbury St., Raleigh, NC 27601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 80 Hotels in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Raleigh Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel is near Raleigh Convention Center, Progress Energy Center for the Performing Arts, and the state capitol. Our hotel has 5,000 sq ft of space for weddings, meetings, and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Raleigh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Raleigh
Raleigh Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Raleigh Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.