We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Raleigh (Crabtree Valley Mall)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Raleigh (Crabtree Valley Mall) to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Raleigh (Crabtree Valley Mall)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4100 Glenwood Ave., Raleigh, NC 27612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #44 of 80 Hotels in Raleigh
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Having stayed at hotels all up and down the East coast most of all last year Monday through Friday for work, and part of this year, I have gotten to experience several brands and experiences. I have stayed at other Holiday Inn's and had good experiences. This one had a nice room, and the location is good but the following things caused this poor review; 1) VERY unfriendly staff at the Front Desk. Dealt with three seperate people during my stay and all three were cold and rude. 2) I drink coffee and it is advertised to have it available at the Lobby 24/7. Past 10am, nothing untl the next morning. 3) Very slow wireless connection and I frequently got kicked off the system with the need to log back in, and while working, that was very inconveient. 4) The computer in the business center are outdated and do not have the ability to read a simple .pdf file since Adobe is not loaded and can not be loaded. 5) Even when the maid cleaned my room, she took all my wash cloths, did not provide new soap so I had to go ask for them. (Minor issues and all I could do was smile at that point)
Although we get a good corporate rate, with the price paid per night, I expect much better. I have had MUCH better experiences with staff, free breakfasts, unlimited coffee and great wireless at Days Inn's, Ramadas, Best Westerns, Marriotts, etc.
There is far too much competition for this hotel to be lacking in those areas. Embassy Suites, La Qunita and others are two blocks away with MANY others within 5 miles. (This hotel was booked for me by my boss, otherwise it would not have been my first choice and after this, even my last choice.
If the staff had been friendly, I could overlook some things, but with all the poor issues, I can not recommend this place.

Room Tip: Check out the La Quinta or Embassy Suites two blocks away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    41
    40
    24
    23
See reviews for
27
23
21
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed there for 2 nights. When we first arrived the hotel looked like it has been remodeled.... But when we went up to the rooms, the hallways and rooms looked and smelled old. Service was great, along with the location.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Raleigh (Crabtree Valley Mall), responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We ceratinly have the friendliest hotel team in Raleigh! Thank you for your kind words. We have renovated many of our public areas of the hotel this year including our meeting space. Our guest room renovation will start in the first part of 2013; we are very excited about the changes that will occur next year.

Our location is convenient to NC State University, the Crabtree Valley Mall, and the RBC Center; we hope to see you during your next visit to Raleigh.

Sincerely,

Lisa Castagna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel is older, but you can tell they have done some remodeling. The rooms were clean and the be was comfortable. It was very quiet were I was staying. Despite the remodeling, you could see the age of the rooms. The staff was very friendly. I'd stay here again if I could get the same deal I got this time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Raleigh (Crabtree Valley Mall), responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We appreciate the kind words about our staff. We have done many renovations this year to our meeting rooms, corridors, and pool area. We have big plans for next year as we will be replacing all of our guest room furniture and carpeting (work has already started in some of our rooms). We hope to see you at the Holiday Inn Raleigh Crabtree Valley during your next trip.

Sincerely,

Lisa Castagna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

It was fairly nice for an older hotel. Front desk staff were very friendly, one of the ladies looked up things for us to do in the area. The restaurant wasn't the cleanest, and there was only one person working on a Saturday night. Which I thought was odd. The rooms were clean, just needed a little bit of maintenance. Paint the chipped closet walls, and fix the screw that was sticking out of the door. Someone could really get hurt on that. So I warn you, please watch your heels by the doors. The beds were terrible though, my husband and I both woke up with our back in pain. The staff was great and the rooms were pretty clean. Not the nicest hotel, but I would stay again if I had another last minute trip.

Room Tip: I requested a bottom floor and they gladly gave it to me. If you have more than two people in the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is located in a good area near shops and restaurants. Comfortable beds and room. Customer service very friendly. Just a hiccup entering my room (salt shaker on floor next to door) after maid service cleaned.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Very comfortable hotel with professional service, locate close to a shopping center. In my opinion food was not good but on other hand one could go to the shopping center where is good selection of restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed at this property last week, must admit I was a bit hesitant due to some of the reviews posted here on TA. However - must say I really could not find anything to complain about! Front desk staff was friendly and professional. Had a drink in the Bar which was fine - although there was an issue with air conditioning. Room was nice given that this is an older property - cleanliness was good and bed was comfortable.

Breakfast next morning was not so good - food was pretty bad but the service made up for it.

They were installing new carpeting in the lobby which looks really nice and the parking lot was much cleaner than when I stayed there earlier this year.

This hotel gets a lot of knocks on here - some I am sure are well deserved - but they often do not get the praise they earn either.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Raleigh (Crabtree Valley Mall)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Raleigh (Crabtree Valley Mall)

Address: 4100 Glenwood Ave., Raleigh, NC 27612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Raleigh (Crabtree Valley Mall) 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday inn Crabtree Valley in Raleigh North Carolina has well appointed rooms with beautifully crafted shower facilities, artwork, lighting, carpeting and personal amenities. All rooms offer complimentary high speed internet access and IHG Rewards amenities. Enjoy the large outdoor pool , complimentary business center and local shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Raleigh (Crabtree Valley Mall) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Crabtree Hotel Raleigh
Crabtree Holiday Inn
Raleigh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Raleigh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Raleigh (Crabtree Valley Mall), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.