We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Raleigh Marriott Crabtree Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Raleigh Marriott Crabtree Valley to your Saves list
Raleigh Marriott Crabtree Valley
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4500 Marriott Dr, Raleigh, NC 27612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #22 of 80 Hotels in Raleigh
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rude Staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Summary: staff was rude and unhelpful which made for a very unpleasant stay. Also, the floor we were staying on looked like a $29 roach motel.

On 12/18 I stay at this Marriott in order to catch a flight the next morning from RDU. Upon evening check at the front desk I requested that the shuttle take me to the airport for my 8am flight the next day. The associate responded "the shuttle doesn't start until 7am." I then asked what I should do and she stated that I should find another way to get to the airport. She did not give me any taxi information or other options on how to get to the airport; she also rolled her eyes at me when I started to walk away. Is 8 am really too early of a flight for a hotel that advertises free airport shuttles? Also, when I requested information on area restaurants I could eat at they were completely unhelpful. Stay somewhere else other than here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    117
    35
    8
    12
See reviews for
42
31
13
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I called the week prior to Christmas to make a reservation for 4 adults and 3 children for the Marriott Christmas buffet. First of all, I was sent to an answer machine but I left my request and my phone number and asked for a confirmation of dinner for 7 at 6:00p.m. I never received a return call (which should have been my first clue) but I am a Marriott rewards member and usually enjoy good service. After several days I called again---this time I was told there was no space until 8 p.m. I indicated my displeasure at being previously ignored and hung up. Shortly I did receive a call from a restaurant manager who apologized and said she would work me in at 6. The price was $35 per adult and $17 per child. I assumed the buffet would be quite lavish at that price. When we arrived, the place was half empty and it remained that way the entire time we ate. (Where was the lack of space?) The buffet was average or less, and there was nothing for the kids. We had to order separately from the menu for them to have anything at all to eat. The atmosphere was deadly---no one smiled or welcomed us, there was nothing festive, no music, and most of the clientele looked as if they had come in from working in their yards. I am totally embarrassed that I selected this place for our special family Christmas dinner. The bill was over $200 and I have had tastier food at McDonald's. I found this very sad at a Marriott property.
I do want to say that the one positive of the evening was our waiter Marcus. He was a delight and did everything possible to make things for us all. His nice personality and attention were much appreciated.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

A typical mid-level business hotel with all the usual amenities. Rooms were clean and nicely appointed but slightly dated. Not palace for a luxurious vacation, but perfectly adequate for a couple of nights.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

My wife and I went to the restaurant for a buffet on Christmas Night 2012 around 5:30. When we made our reservation the person on the phone said it would be $35 per person. That sounded kind of high but I thought it must be really good for that price. I wish we had left once we got there and there was no one to seat us. The food didn't look particularly appetizing and It certainly wasn't either. The turkey tasted like something out of a can. The prime rib was way undercooked. All the vegetables we tried were very mediocre. We tried some fruit and it was awful. The cantelope was actually unedible. Seriously, we have had much better meals from cafeterias and the buffet should not have cost over $8.95 per person. This restaurant was very good about 10-12 years ago,but has certainly gone down the hill since. We will definitely never come back. Service not good either.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I was very unimpressed with this hotel - the carpet was extremely dirty, the room smelled like a wet dog and there was a huge industrial vacuum in my room that the staff did not remove for the 3 nights that I stayed there.

The bathroom showed age, with the tiles faded and the bathtub leaking. The bed was comfortable (grateful for that), but because the room smelled so bad, I couldn't get a good night's sleep. I will not stay at this hotel ever again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

What's not to like - as long as "the company" is picking up the tab?? (LOL).

Great hotel - really everything was perfect - except - we were supposed to be staying in the DOWNTOWN MARRIOTT - where the convention we were attending was being held - but "something" was screwed up "somewhere" - so we were "stuck" at this one. it was not that big of a deal though - about 12 minutes from downtown.

It does have a real nice pool and hot tub!!

And the beds were actually awesome - maybe the most comfortable bed I ever slept in.

If you had to get stuck somewhere - this is not that bad a place to get stuck. I would stay Downtown though next time - because - well - that is where everthing is happening at (assuming you are traveling for "pleasure". Oh - you know that "free breakfast" you are used to everywhere (?) - um - not here - free coffee ONLY!

Room Tip: All the same I would think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Spent a couple nights here for a company event, and it's pretty clear that their main clientele is companies who use the exhibition rooms and also offer corporate rates. The hotel itself is showing its age a bit, as the rooms are a tad small and dark, the TV was a bit spotty (volume would cut out for no reason) and the bath is clean but unremarkable. It does have a nice indoor pool, nice exercise room, and a whirlpool, and ample parking although it can be a short walk. Personally, given the plethora of newer, well-priced hotels in the area I wouldn't pay to stay here. However if the company has you staying here, it's not a bad place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Raleigh Marriott Crabtree Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raleigh Marriott Crabtree Valley

Address: 4500 Marriott Dr, Raleigh, NC 27612
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Raleigh
#18 Family Hotel in Raleigh
#19 Business Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Raleigh Marriott Crabtree Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience modern luxury at Raleigh Marriott Crabtree Valley. Our hotel in Raleigh offers contemporary design that fits the needs of all travelers with casual spaces to connect, a centralized location for groups to meet, and an ideal event venue for family and friends to gather. Guests of our Raleigh, North Carolina hotel will find themselves in close proximity to top business parks and the area's best shopping and downtown restaurants. Unite at Quinn's Sport Bar to catch the latest NC State University game, or work in our smartly crafted lobby and take advantage of our free Wi-Fi. Maintain your routine in the hotel fitness center or enjoy a poolside cocktail party, and save money with creative packages and special offers. Raleigh Marriott Crabtree Valley is ideal for business travelers and the local community to mix and mingle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Raleigh Marriott Crabtree Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raleigh Marriott Crabtree Valley Hotel Raleigh
Marriott Raleigh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raleigh Marriott Crabtree Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.