We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my fav Hampton in Raleigh” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Wake Towne Drive, Raleigh, NC 27609 (Formerly Hampton Inn Raleigh - North)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book 2X Loyalty Points
Ranked #30 of 83 Hotels in Raleigh
Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not my fav Hampton in Raleigh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

This hotel is very conveniently located just off 440 and is tucked away in a quiet area with some other hotels. The sign for the Courtyard is what you'll see on the corner. The lobby has just been re done and is very nice. The food offerings for breakfast were ok. Not sure about the wine, beer and food offered at night - that is indeed offered at another Hampton in town, not sure about this one, although I was there on a weekend. The layout of the hotel is old - there's nothing they can do about that. Bathroom cleanliness was fine, condition of the tub/shower not so much. My room did not have a fridge or a microwave and I wasn't too pleased about that, especially after seeing traveler photos that show that some rooms do have them.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    75
    48
    22
    11
See reviews for
78
51
16
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Elizabeth City, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The hotel was in a nice location, the food was nice (wine, beer and food at night). Breakfast food was good. Hotel was clean, nice large bathrooms. Friendly staff, decent price. That is all I have to say. Not sure why I have to put a minimum of 200 characters.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton M, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank youu for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.com.

We are really gald you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you stay with us, the next time you visit Raleigh.

We are very proud of our hotel and we hope that is a reflected in our service.

Sincerely,

Suzanne Villani
Director of Sales
Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown
919-828-1813
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I would have not stayed here if I knew they allowed smoking. Old rooms. No refrigerator or coffee maker. Uncomfortable bed. But the room was clean and staff was friendly. Breakfast was standard. I prefer a Marriott. Below average.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va Beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Very convenient location in the Research Triangle area close to RDU Int'l Arpt. We visited Duke, UNC, and NCSU in Durham, Chapel Hill, and Raleigh and this was close to all 3. The hotel staff were very friendly and offered us suggestions on dining and various places to visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton M, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Brian S.,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, while visiting Raleigh.

The hotel is close to I-440, which will allow you easy accessibility to all the surrounding towns.

I am so glad that the staff gave you some recommendations as to where to go and what to see.

Thank you so much for writing a review about our property on TripAdvisor.com. We really do appreciate it.

Sincerely,

Suzanne Villani
Director of Sales
Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown
(919) 828-1813
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had no problems with our stay. Nice, clean hotel with a nice staff. After checking in, the manager that checked us in called our room to make sure everything was to our liking. No complaints. The hotel was also located in a nice central area - close to restaurants and just a few minutes from the mall.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton M, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.com.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and liked our location.

We are conveniently located to lots of area restaurants and 2 malls. We call ourselves, "Raleigh's hidden treasure."

We hope you come and stay with us the next time you are in Raleigh.

Sincerely,

Suzanne Villani
Director of Sales
Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown
(919) 828-1813
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I made a last minute reservation using Hilton Honors Points. The hotel is convenient to I-440 and Wake Forest Road, but is very quiet and private. My room had been updated. Comfortable and roomy. My one complaint was room location. Due to the layout of the hotel, my room (on the first floor) was directly in front of the two elevators. The noise level was horrible as people waited for the elevators, carrying on conversations without even attempting to lower voices. As it was New Year's Eve, there were several who were quite loud and late (and I didn't get back to the room until 2 a.m.) Then I got to deal with the early morning departures. I should have asked for a different room when I checked in. Note to others: Do not stay in room 125.

Room Tip: Avoid room 125, and surrounding rooms. The elevator lobby can be very noisy as people wait.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton M, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor.com.

We appreciate all of the feedback we get from our guests. Anything we can do to help make someone's stay more accommodating is what we strive for.

I am so sorry that your room location was not ideal. We do get busy on New Year's Eve, b/c there are several parties going on, in and around Raleigh.

I know it was late, but we always have a guest representative available to help assist with any issues or concerns that arise during the night. I am sorry to hear that you were interrupted, during the night, by the other guests in the hotel.

Thank you again for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.com

Sincerely,

Suzanne Villani
Director of Sales
Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown
919-828-1813
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We drove from Myrtle Beach to Raleigh and needed to find a room for 1 night before a flight the next day. We got to Raleigh and we looked up local Hamptons. We picked this one because the prices online were excellent and most Hamptons are pretty standard on their level of quality. We arrived with no reservation and were able to reserve a room for that night with a AAA discount for only $71!

The room was a standard Hampton room and the service was Hampton quality (read: wonderful!)

There is a shopping center located just down the hill from this Hampton- we went to Trader Joes and got a bottle of wine and some snacks. 1 exit down on the freeway is another center that has some higher end restaurants. We ate at a place called Cowfish (try it! It was awesome!) which was right next to a Yardhouse.

When we checked out the next morning, we went into Raleigh for the day, it was about a 15 min drive into the city's downtown.

The only complaint we had was the AC/Heater unit. Ours didn't turn on. After taking our hot showers before bed, the room was very stuffy so we tried to turn the fan on for a few min to circulate some air and it didn't work. Eventually the room cooled down, but it was a bit uncomfortable for a while.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton M, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Allierskine,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our property.

We do refer to our property as, "Raleigh's Hidden Treasure." We are conveniently located to several of the "must see and must do" attractions in Raleigh.

I am so glad you tried The Cowfish, that is one of our favorite restaurants. Yummers!!! Yard House is a great place, too. Trader Joe's is a landmark for us!! Since we are somewhat off the beaten path, we refer to Trader Joe's on a daily basis.

I am so sorry that you had an issue with your AC/Heater unit. If you had mentioned this to us while you were here, we would have taken care of the issue immediately.

Again, thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely,

Suzanne Villani
Director of Sales
Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown
919-828-1813
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown

Address: 1001 Wake Towne Drive, Raleigh, NC 27609 (Formerly Hampton Inn Raleigh - North)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Raleigh
#29 Business Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Raleigh-Midtown. Where there is always a lot to do!! Stay at the Hampton Inn® hotel in Raleigh-Midtown, and you'll be in a town with a diverse lineup of activities. Love history? You'll find museums, historic homes, neighborhoods and historic districts dating back to Sir Walter Raleigh's time. Art fan? Check out the NC Museum of Natural Sciences or any one of our 20 museums. Do you prefer to watch sports? Professional and college teams such as NC State University keep balls of all sorts aloft here in North Carolina. There is always a sporting event or a great performance at the PNC Arena. It's all just a few minutes from our hotel in Raleigh. When you're ready for the perfect North Carolina afternoon; head to one of the state's gorgeous golf courses. We're known for our beautiful fairways and lush greens. Or if wine is more your thing, venture to the Piedmont Region, where you'll find some of the state's best-known vineyards. And, of course, Durham, Chapel Hill and the Research Triangle Park are nearby, too. So come check into the Hampton Inn hotel in Raleigh-Midtown, a city with a royal past and dynamic future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Raleigh - North Hotel Raleigh
Raleigh Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.