We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Crabtree Raleigh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn Crabtree Raleigh to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn Crabtree Raleigh
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3921 Arrow Drive, I-440 at Exit #7, Raleigh, NC 27612 (Formerly Windsor Inn Raleigh)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 80 Hotels in Raleigh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never again!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I ask myself who reviews these places? What standards do they have? I entered this place and was reminded of a cheap motel in a third world country. It smelt dingy, the breakfast area was uninviting and loveless and breakfast was non- existent. I found 3 pieces of old sliced bread and some Danish pastries, 3 little marmalade individual packages, no margerine and Cheerios that looked like they had been there since last Christmas. Watery coffee in plastic cups and that was it. They certainly know how to save every cent! $64 per night was a rip off for that.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVICrabtree, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Crabtree Raleigh, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We kindly appreciate you taking the time out to review our hotel. I apologize if the breakfast was not up to your standard. As being an economy hotel we only offer standard continental breakfast.

We are not 3 star or 4 star hotel and we certainly do not try to sell ourselves as upscale hotel. We keep our amenities basic to add value who are looking for clean rooms and value price point. Most of the hotels in the area are significantly more expensive than we are.

Our hotel guests include businessmen, construction workers, parents visiting kids in college and tourists from out of country who seeks value and clean rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    30
    5
    7
    4
See reviews for
22
16
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel provides a tremendous value and has a fantastic location. I recently moved to the Raleigh area. Due to a lag between the time I sold my home and the time that construction of my new house was completed, I had to select a hotel that was convenient, secure, and clean for me and my family to call home for several weeks. We researched area hotels on Trip Advisor and decided to give this hotel a try. We were not disappointed. The reviews are accurate and the hotel was perfect for our situation. Located across the street from Crabtree Valley Mall and in close proximity to many parks as well as I-440, this hotel was in a perfect location. The rooms are spacious, clean, and have been updated. I strongly recommend checking out the Americas Best Value Inn at Crabtree when you are in Raleigh.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVICrabtree, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Crabtree Raleigh, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greatly appreciate your time to write a review.

As you stated, great value, clean rooms, great staff and location for the price you paid. We are blessed to be in proximity of all major attraction and easy access to I-440.

Not only is our location great, but we are blessed with great staff as well.

Looking forward to your next stay at our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Booked for 2 nights, liked it so ended up staying 4 nights. NW Raleigh, handy for area with good road links to downtown Raleigh, the Triangle area and NCSU. Reasonable room rates and a nice, well run hotel. Less expensive than those surrounding. Breakfast well stocked by girl on reception but ran out of stuff when guy ws on - that morning had to go to McDs which is closeby. Flatscreen tv, fridge, good sized room. Comfortable. Only downside was no lift, so if you have mobility issues, ask for ground floor.

Room Tip: No lift. We were on top floor but if you have mobility issues ask for room on same floor as receptio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVICrabtree, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Crabtree Raleigh, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for feedback regarding your stay with us. It really lets us know that we have been doing our best to keep our guests happy and to know the value they find by staying with us.

Please visit us again so we can continue to provide you with best value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The reviews are correct, this is the place to stay for a great value. Finally nice to get more for my money than I expected. Also the waffles in the complimentary continental breakfast was delicious!

I was upgraded to a room with a flat screen tv. My room was super clean, spacious, and very quiet. The staff was very accomodating and pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVICrabtree, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Crabtree Raleigh, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about our hotel. It really means a lot to us to know we have satisfied our guests.

I am glad you've found the value you were looking for by staying at our hotel and thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were attending a special event in Raleigh and we were really trying to keep the budget in check so this was perfect! It was very clean and in a good area and we just needed a place to sleep and change clothes. Our room had a fridge and microwave, which is always appreciated. The value for money was excellent. We both agreed that if we were staying for longer we would probably choose something a bit more upscale, but that we would stay here again for a quick overnight. The staff was very friendly, pleasant, and helpful. The breakfast was pretty much pastries, toast, ceral, and waffles, and really good coffee. Honestly, with the room rates being so reasonable, I was pleased that there was any breakfast. The parking lot is small and so are the parking spaces, but we did get a spot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVICrabtree, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Crabtree Raleigh, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Greatly appreciate your time to write a review for fellow travelers.

As you stated, great value and quality for the price you paid. We are also blessed with great staff that makes you feel welcomed. Your comment about breakfast is well taken. We will make an effort to improve.

Looking forward to your next stay at our hotel

Thanks..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I actually stayed here for two separate weeks. The hotels around this area are on average $20-$50 more per night. It was clean, quiet, and had a flat screen on the wall. The bathrooms have been renovated so there's new sinks and new low flow toilets. If the rest of the room was as nice as the bathroom it would be a totally different place. It's older and it shows in some places but you can tell the management is trying to make it better.

It looks a little sketchy from the outside, but it's nicer than econolodge and days inn which are around the same price. The 'breakfast' is lackluster but McDonald's is literally right behind the hotel.

Hope that helps.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 3rd floor, never heard any other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVICrabtree, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Crabtree Raleigh, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
First of all you stayed here twice, that itself states that you really like the place. We have many repeat/loyal guest like you. Also I can not appreciate enough your understanding of value and quality we provide for the price.

About the renovations, yes we have done very good job in bathroom and in process of upgrading rooms. Some room has flat screen TV and others we are working on it.

I am glad you enjoyed our hotel and friendly staff. Looking forward to your next stay at our hotel.

Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

It's obvious this motel is run by someone who cares about service and pays attention to detail. When I learned the king room I had booked was on the second floor and explained that stairs were a problem due to an injury, the very professional desk clerk (Tecara) made the switch to a first floor room for me. She also arranged for early morning coffee upon my request, even though the regular weekend set-up time was 7 a.m. (The overnight clerk did not see the instructions, but scurried to accommodate as soon as he learned of the oversight.) To top it off, when I realized I had left my computer power module plugged into the wall after I checked out, I found the staff had already found it and turned it over to the manager, Mr. Patel, who arranged for it to be mailed back to me. Wow.
Everything in our room was clean and in good working order. Continental breakfast was free and adequate. Motel is walking distance to Crabtree Mall with a wide range of restaurant options. My only complaints are that the pillows were impossible to sleep on (for me) and that I prefer a coffeemaker in the room so I don't have to stagger out into the lobby the first thing in the morning. Other than that, the stay was everything you want out of a motel. Quite extraordinary!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVICrabtree, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Crabtree Raleigh, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We sincerely thank you for your great review. We also thank you for business and appreciation you have given to our hotel and staff.

I am going to repeat your well stated statement here:
"It's obvious this motel is run by someone who cares about service and pays attention to detail"

That says it all for fellow travelers. We are continuously working towards improving our hospitality and make a great experience for travelers while they are away from home.

We welcome you to stay with us during your next visit to Raleigh.

Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Crabtree Raleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Crabtree Raleigh

Address: 3921 Arrow Drive, I-440 at Exit #7, Raleigh, NC 27612 (Formerly Windsor Inn Raleigh)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Raleigh
#22 Business Hotel in Raleigh
#25 Romantic Hotel in Raleigh
#26 Family Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Crabtree Raleigh 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Crabtree/Raleigh located just outside the Raleigh Beltline, only 5 miles from the center of the city and the capital city of North Carolina. Our 58 spacious newly renovated guest rooms provide guests with all of the comforts of home including free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwave, mini-fridge, cable TV with HBO, hairdryer, and free local calls. We also offer a free deluxe continental breakfast, modern business center, fitness room, and guest laundry facility. You can golf at the nearby Carolina Country Club, walk to an array of restaurants including McCormick and Schmick's Seafood, Brio Tuscan Grille, P.F.Chang's, or go shopping at the Crabtree Valley Mall. Our hotel is close to both North Carolina State University and Meredith College. Whether traveling on business at one of the government offices or Research Triangle Park, attending a convention, or just taking in the sights you are ensured a convenient, quiet, and comfortable stay. Our pet friendly hotel offers unbeatable service, an attentive 24-hour front desk staff, and competitive rates. At Americas Best Value Inn Crabtree/Raleigh, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Crabtree Raleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Crabtree Raleigh Hotel Raleigh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn Crabtree Raleigh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.