We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In Love” 5 of 5 stars
Review of J Betski's

J Betski's
10 W Franklin St, Raleigh, NC 27604-8011
919-833-7999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 1,235 Restaurants in Raleigh
Cuisines: German, Polish
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“In Love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We ate here at the recommendation of a friend and LOVED it! After living abroad for three years it was like being transported back to Europe. We loved everything we had from the beer to salad to sausage to spaetzle. It was all delicious and refreshing and all we can think about is going back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    42
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“First Time and we Love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This was our first visit, and we were very pleased. The BBQ and also the sweet corn perogies were amazing. Great selection of German beers to chose from and try. The entree selection was limited but the quality was amazing. Both entrees were great an we will return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Tasty gourmet twist on German/polish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Excellent birthday dinner! We ordered several of the interesting sounding appetizers of the day as well as several from the menu to start out. Very creative preparations including foie gras, quark, etc! All were outstanding! Then most of us went with the pieroges and bratwurst or kielbasa but the pieroges had non traditional fillings that were very good! The bratwurst, kielbasa and smoked kielbasa were "eye closing good"!

We tried many of the beers, from lagers to stout and enjoyed all! The Pinot Noir from Austria was great price and very good taste!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I lived in Germany for 6 years and I really missed the food until we discovered J. Betski's. The staff was terrific, friendly and attentive. The food was even better...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garner, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“If you like German food...this is it !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

They offer different foods depending
on the season. Lighter German fare
in the summer and the heavier more
known fares in the winter. All good.
I generally don't think of German
food in the summer because I have
always known it to be great cold
weather warm up food. The lighter
fare is also good in the summer.
If you like food from this part of
the world you'll love it.
I don't drink but hear they have
a great assortment of good beers.
Make reservations !!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Betski's also viewed

 

Been to J Betski's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J Betski's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.