We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 18 Seaboard

18 Seaboard
18 Seaboard Ave, Suite 100, Raleigh, NC 27604-8009
919-861-4318
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
18 Seaboard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 1,212 restaurants in Raleigh
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Peace
raleigh nc
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We ate here last night with friends and we all enjoyed the experience. Appetizers were wonderful (pork belly was a huge hit with friend and her husband) Main dishes were good, though my wahoo (a special last night) was a little dry and overcooked. I just dipped it in the sauce my husband had with his fish (swordfish on regular menu and DELICIOUS! ) Beef briskit reported as very good and another friend had steak - very good. We will go here again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    202
    88
    25
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So much promise, so little delivery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

18 seaboard lives an aspiring life in a small shopping plaza in downtown Raleigh. The dining room and general ambiance are quite nice and the staff was friendly if not overly helpful. We came with a medium sized party on a weeknight and had no trouble being seated. The room was busy but not crowded. Our server was clearly training and trying very hard. Overall she did her job and nothing more.
The food was all over the place in terms of quality of ingredients and preparation. The restaraunt focuses on locally sourced ingredients which is nice but the quality was just not there on several occasions. We tried multiple appetizers and found the tomatoes to be very good and certainly the shrimp was tasty even if it seemed like an easily replicated recipe that could be found at red lobster. The peppers came recommended by the server and were frankly awful. Not a single person enjoyed them. The cheese tray was airplane food quality. The fried tomatoes were adequate but under seasoned. Overall a mish mash of several food styles mirroring the menu options.
On to the entrees. The ribeye was not of chain quality in meat or preparation. The brisket was reportedly good. The catfish was almost inedible and nearly dangerously undercooked. The filet had by my wife was left half on the plate from poor meat quality and lack of seasoning. I was told that the swordfish and vegetarian plates were good. The bacon grit cake with the catfish and the greens were above average but the whole plate was ruined by the fish preparation. Catfish is simply not that difficult to cook and there's a reason 2,000 mom and pop joints do it in NC but on this night 18 seaboard made it look difficult.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great mix of seafood and low country comfort food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

18 Seaboard is one of our favorite restaurants to bring out of town guests. There is a great diversity on the menu, from fire-grilled steaks and seafood, to more complex fine-dining type entrees, to southern comfort food like shrimp and grits. They always have unique cocktail offerings and a solid wine list. Great for both romantic dinners and business meetings.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Third go-around and still delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The third trip for my wife and I to 18 Seaboard was as good as the previous two. The atmosphere is formal w/out being stuffy, and the prices are upscale w/out being outlandish. The meal began with the tomato sampler, which I highly recommend. From there, my wife had the shrimp and penne pasta with caramelized onions, yellow peppers, spinach and parmesan cream, which was a perfect blend of rich but not too heavy. I had the swordfish, which was delectable but nothing special. The sauteed spinach side was good, but the highlight was the goat cheese smashed red potatoes - wonderful. For dessert, the lemon creme brulee was very good, but the blueberry mousse pie was disappointing. All in all, a satisfying, delicious and enjoyable meal...as usual.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“We'll Be Back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Location is sort of off the beaten path unless you are familiar with the area. Was recommended by the local wine shop...thanks a bunch! Everything is local from the vegetables to the beef/fish. I had the ribeye and had to fight my wife from cleaning my plate. Mixed vegetables and cheese grits was my side. Outstanding!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 18 Seaboard also viewed

 

Been to 18 Seaboard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 18 Seaboard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.