We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy New Year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Carolina Symphony

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
North Carolina Symphony
2 East South St, Raleigh, NC 27601
919 733 2750
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 149 things to do in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Happy New Year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This year we went to the New Years Symphony concert where they played old world dance music along with the big band music of the 1940's . We had an enjoyable evening and saw the early fireworks in downtown Raleigh. Overall I would recommend this experience to everyone.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    16
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Always splendid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

If you live in or visit North Carolina, be sure to visit the NC Symphony. This eighty year old orchestra is one of the leading orchestras in the US playing all genres of music. A performance in its home, Meymandi concert hall in Raleigh, or in its summer home, the amphitheater at Regency Park in Cary, are not to be missed. And since they travel 25,000 miles across NC each year you may see them anywhere from Asheville to Wilmington. Check the website for the schedule.www.ncsymphony.org. And be sure to thank the legislature and state and local government officials whose support has insured that this NC institution continues its important role in public education in NC.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“wonderful music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We really enjoy the performance. The conductor was great and also entertaining. The view was also very good. We will go the their concerts again. The only thing I did not like is that the venue allows people who are late to enter when the performance has already started. This could be a little annoying...

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Amazing Performances”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have seen the symphony a few times. Most recently was the Duke Ellington/Symphony performance. We have also seen the symphony at Koka Booth. William Curry was the conductor the past two times. He is wonderful. You can tell how passionate he is and how much he enjoys what he does. The performaces have been wonderful. Don't pass up the opportunity to hear them.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice, Hard Working Symphony”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Grant shakes his booty and does a nice job of mixing high brow classical with popular music, attempting to fill the seats and please most of the public.
An enjoyable evening if the program offered suits your fancy.

Also, many of the performances offer brief lectures from the conductor or key performers for free prior to the concert.

GIve it a try. You'll be happy. And there are lots of nice places to eat downtown prior to the performance.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Carolina Symphony also viewed

 

Been to North Carolina Symphony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Carolina Symphony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.