We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Carolina Symphony

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
North Carolina Symphony
2 East South St, Raleigh, NC 27601
919 733 2750
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 51 Activities in Raleigh
Type: Symphonies, Performances
Attraction details
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“First rate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Though attending in "official" concert is a rare treat, they are regularly broadcast at times over local radio and TV - plus have events in various local areas, often free. I love them!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    15
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morrisville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Like it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Well, it's not Metropolitan, but for NC it is a very good orchestra. I have no musical education, so I can simply say, that I enjoy my every visit to the symphony. I do believe that their conductor is great.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Great Music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We always have a fabulous experience attending the NC Symphony at Meymandi Hall. We attended this past Saturday when the Naughton twins performed Mozart's Concerto No. 10 for Two Pianos. They did an excellent job and received an extended standing ovation.

After the intermission, the orchestra performed Brahms: Symphony No. 1. Not one of my favorites, but well done.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“An absolute treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We've never had anything but a wonderful experience. For a city this size, we're privileged to have such a gem. Memorial Hall is a first-class venue. Especially love the Christmas presentations and anything with the NC Master Chorale.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“NY has nothing on NC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

You don't have to go to NYC for excellence in symphonic music.
NC Symphony performs all over the state of North Carolina with its primary venue in Raleigh at Meymandi Hall. Treat yourself.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Carolina Symphony also viewed

 

Been to North Carolina Symphony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Carolina Symphony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.