We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you'r looking for an authentic Chinese restaurant, this is not it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Garden Chinese Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Imperial Garden Chinese Restaurant
7713 Lead Mine Rd Ste 15, Raleigh, NC 27615
(919) 846-1988
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #373 of 1,235 Restaurants in Raleigh
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you'r looking for an authentic Chinese restaurant, this is not it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We thought we would give this place a try. While the service was great, the food is just like any other take-out place (only priced higher). We ordered the Mapo Tofu, Pi Pa Tofu and General Gau's duck. We thought since they offer these dishes on their menu, it would be authentic as it's not the typical take-out items. All of it was so so and I can taste that vegetables were out of a can especially the straw mushrooms. In short, if you're looking for a Chinese take-out place, Imperial Garden will suffice. Go somewhere else if you're looking authentic Chinese food. Super Wok in Cary is way better and worth the drive even if you live in Raleigh!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“This is top quality Chinese!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Everyone is used to the strip mall quick takeout places. Imperial Garden is not that! We travel 2.5 hours just to eat here, it is so satisfying. If you have time to plan ahead call and order the crispy whole fish. As good as Hong Kong. We have had maybe a dozen different menu items and every one of them is excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Elegant Chinese Restaurant, Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Ate lunch here recently. This is one of the best Chinese restaurants in Raleigh. Restaurant is very well decorated with simple elegance and design on table tops. Service is efficient, attentive and friendly. All of the staff was friendly and helpful. Food is above average for a Chinese restaurant and is not too expensive. Had egg drop soup, fried noodles and Shrimp and mixed vegetables and all was very good. For those that have not visited this restaurant and like good Chinese food, a very nice atmosphere and really good friendly service give them a try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“You can put lipstick on a pig but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We went out to dinner last Sunday to Imperial Garden Chinese Restaurant on Lead Mine Rd.

The decor is very very Asian which is not a bad thing if you are looking for that atmosphere.

The staff was superbly friendly and attentive. I even overheard one server inform a table that a certain dish was made with peanuts just to make certain no one was allergic to it. Like I said, superb.

The live piano music was also an enchanting delight for such an unpretentious little place.

But then the food came and that's when it went down hill.

We ordered a couple of plates of Mongolian Beef and General Tso Chicken with Fried Rice. The main dishes had more onions and corn starch glaze than anything. The meats seem to be the garnish of the plate. The fried rice was old, hard and dry. It apparently was yesterday's leftovers stirred up together and relabeled as Pork Fried Rice.

The price was a bit steep too. For plate-full of onions, $11 each. The food looked, tasted and was garnished the same way as the $5 lunch plate of the same dish was just a couple of hours earlier.

Although in all fairness, our waitress did notice we were very disappointed with our Fried Rice. So she offered to bring us a box of fresh rice to go. She was right, It was fresh fried rice. So why didn't they serve that rice in the first place? You can't help but get the feeling that the owners are trying to see what they can get away with if no one complains. If you do complain, they are only too happy to remedy the situation. To me that's just bad business. Avoid the unpleasant experience first.

So if not for the live music and attentive staff, this place would be no more than a Chinese take-out joint.

I don't plan on coming back. I'll make myself a plate of onions at home.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Delicious pork fried rice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have a weakness for pork fried rice and this place does not disappoint! The general's tso's chicken was excellent, and while the empress chicken had a great flavor, we would have liked more vegetables. Overall very good!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imperial Garden Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Imperial Garden Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Garden Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.