We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT WEIGHT WATHCERS!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Daddy's Market & Grill - CLOSED

Fat Daddy's Market & Grill
6201 Glenwood Ave, Raleigh, NC 27612-2615
919-787-3773
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“NOT WEIGHT WATHCERS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I learned here that the reason a burger tastes good is BECAUSE of the fat! So if you want one of those lean slabs of tasteless posers... STAY AWAY! Also try the onion rings! Not in downtown but I think worth looking for.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    17
    8
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NC
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Older Restaurant - Just Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This restaurant was just beside our hotel, so we decided to have our dinner there. It has a limited primarily sandwich menu, and you can tell the restaurant has been around for a while. Our food was nothing special, it was just average. We probably would not eat here again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“So delish!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We had a big party of 15+ (lots of kids) and it was perfect for everyone! My grilled chicken sandwich was delish and I loved the "fixin" bar! My daughter loved her hot dog and especially the ice cream. I only wish they came around to refill drinks...I'm lazy! We will definitely go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Awesome burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is the place that started the whole burger bar thing years ago in the area. They cook grilled to order burgers, hot dogs, steak sandwiches, even corned beef. Then it is to the "fixin" bar to load up with whatever add ons you want. They have a great selection of bottled beers, with a big nod to the craft brew side. They have a bakery and ice cream also, although I have to admit in all my years I have never had anything from there. If you are in Raleigh, definitely make a stop.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Come hungry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

So last time I ordered a hot dog and OMG, it came out on a freshly made bun and was HUGE. I topped it off at the toppings bar and had to go at it with a fork and knife until it's heat, and my inhibitions about making a mess, subsided. SO very tasty. The kids love the cheese sauce, and it is tough to get them to focus less on the fries and diving into the cheese than their hamburger or ham & cheese. Both are well sized, so if you have little ones you could slice them in half. We never make it to the deserts or ice cream!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Daddy's Market & Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Daddy's Market & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.