We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best outdoor dining in downtown Raleigh!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mellow Mushroom Pizza Bakers - Downtown Raleigh

Mellow Mushroom Pizza Bakers - Downtown Raleigh
601 W Peace St, Raleigh, NC 27605-1519
919-832-3499
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 1,235 Restaurants in Raleigh
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Apex, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best outdoor dining in downtown Raleigh!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My family and I absolutely love this restaurant! We sit on the patio every time and enjoy every minute of it. We start the night off with the garlic Parmesan pretzels and then we dive into the tasty pizza. The food is great and the servers are always attentive and friendly. If you haven't been to the shroom before, you are really missing out!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    82
    32
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Very good rendition of American pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very good quality food with fresh ingredients. Mellow Mushroom is a small specialty pizza chain that offers good quality. What you have to remember is it is their version of pizza. Their dough is made fresh in their own style and not a traditional pizza crust. It is more moist, chewy and more like a sourdough consistency. It is one of those things that you will either love it or hate it. I ordered take out so I did not rate atmosphere and my service experience was just at the pick up.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“moist pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our first visit gave me a better impression. Pizza is different than other places and I give them credit for coming up with with something for hungry teens. 24 oz margarita gave no buzz at all but felt like a fancy lemonade at a premium price but maybe it is not a good idea to suggest they serve a real 24 oz margarita since they are all college kids. Will go back for pizza but will have a cocktail elsewhere

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Tasty pizza, Sit outside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Took our kids here after tromping around downtown Raleigh - great lunch, super helpful & relatively speedy service (helpful when you have children). Loved sitting outside. The boys and I split some pizza - all good. The wife (vegetarian) raved about her salad! Two thumbs up here!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great pizza place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Came here for dinner on a Monday night. No wait for a large party. Service was quick and attentive. Menu was focused on pizza and other Italian type dishes. Prices were reasonable and food was very good. Quite a few beers on tap and some local North Carolina beers on tap as well. If you are in the area this place is definitely worth a stop.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mellow Mushroom Pizza Bakers - Downtown Raleigh also viewed

 

Been to Mellow Mushroom Pizza Bakers - Downtown Raleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mellow Mushroom Pizza Bakers - Downtown Raleigh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.