We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Big Ed's City Market Restaurant

Big Ed's City Market Restaurant
220 Wolfe St, Raleigh, NC 27601
919-836-9909
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 1,236 Restaurants in Raleigh
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Being from Raleigh i wanted to go back while in town on vacation..
Overall I was disappointed..I loved the decor. Old country items hanging all around.. Service was good and coffee ok. I live in Miami now and used to very strong coffee.. Loved the crushed ice in the ice tea and water.. I had scrambled eggs, gritts with black eye gravy, patty sausage, and biscuits...the eggs were overcooked and cooked on to high a temp..I was dying to try the biscuits. But when I took the first bite the we're quite tough and chewy.. What a shame..the grits were quite runny.i like mine thick. The red eye gravy was perfect. The patty sausage was a hit. It was from nahunta. It's was perfect. They are located just west of goldsboro..I go there on my visits to see family and bring back 5 lbs with me to Miami..
I usually go to bojagles while in nc.. Biscuits are the best..

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    75
    12
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Country Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Wonderful menu, great service and everything you would expect for a good country breakfast. Very reasonably priced.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Generous Southern Cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

As a Yankee transplant, restaurants like Big Ed's are somewhat foreign to me. I love getting a plate of biscuits and cornbread with a squeeze bottle of molasses on the table. The cornbread is made with lard, which tastes wonderful.

The food is nothing fancy, but it is good and comes in generous portions. Although I've never tried to eat one, I have seen folks get pancakes that hang off of their dinner plates. You will certainly be full when you leave Big Ed's. Plus, as of a couple of years ago they finally take plastic so you don't need to bring cash.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garner, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Eh. I Am Not In A Rush To Return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The food at Big Ed's was okay. Not better than IHop but a good bit more expensive. If you like mediocre food at a high price Big Ed's is the place for you.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great breakfast spot in downtown Raleigh.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This place was very busy on a Saturday morning. We did not have to wait for a table as it is pretty spacious. Since it was busy, it took a while to get our food but that is too be expected in a busy restaurant. Service was great and the food is good at a fair price.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Ed's City Market Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Big Ed's City Market Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Ed's City Market Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.