We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favorite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Monica Italian Restaurant

Bella Monica Italian Restaurant
3121 Edwards Mill Rd Ste 103, Raleigh, NC 27612
(919) 881-9778
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bella Monica Italian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 1,236 Restaurants in Raleigh
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Raleigh, NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We eat here as often as we can...a short walk from the house. Great staff, great food, often crowded...seek the bar

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    32
    20
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gluten Free Review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Party of 6 ate here and we chose it because of the great gluten free reviews, 3 in our party don't eat gluten. We were so pleased! Fresh focaccia for both those who do and don't eat gluten. Terrific, friendly service. Food was quite good! We all had meatless entrees as it was Lent, and the shrimp scampi, shrimp and grits, and spinach stuffed ravioli were all very good. Only wish we lived in Raleigh so we could eat here more often!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Worth the Trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We were able to eat outside, during a cold spell - but heated (very comfortable)

The first course is the appetizer - bread with garlic and butter, AMAZING.....

The waitress suggested an entree for me that I would have never selected myself. It was a spicy mussel dish that made the noodles black with their ink, and garlic/wine sauce. I was a bit hesitant, but she assured me if I didn't like it, I could order something else. (I am a white sauce lover, but was looking for something new). I was NOT disappointed. The linguine was flavorful, and not fishy, and I ate it all. Again - I would not have tried this on my own - and I was so glad!

They have all the traditional Italian fare, with pizza/flatbreads. The wine list is exclusive -again I had the waitress recommend a wine, and it was fabulous.

The manager checked on us twice (they were really busy too) and we had a pleasant exchange.

Living in St. Louis and having the Hill to compare to, this was the closest I have gotten to really good Italian in North Carolina - many of the recipes are from their grandmother who is Italian.

I recommend reservations - and they take them seriously - in a professional, good way.

I will be back to try more entrees!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Raleigh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Bella Monica is a cozy restaurant, where we are always greeted like family. The food is amazing, and there is something for every diet (gluten free, low-carb and more traditional Italian fare). I generally order the Chicken Balsamico, with grilled chicken, roasted tomatoes and spinach sauteed with garlic. Not too heavy and fresh and delicious flavor. My husband orders the meat lasagna, which is nothing short of phenomenal. Definitely try to make a reservation before you go and good for couples and families.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Prodigioso”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Awesome restaurant, small, comfortable; friendly staff and cooks; delicious, marvelous, wonderful food. This is the best Italian dining in Raleigh. Will most certainly return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Monica Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bella Monica Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Monica Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.