We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice (and busy) restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Angus Barn

The Angus Barn
9401 Glenwood Ave, Raleigh, NC 27617-7514
(919) 781-2444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 1,235 Restaurants in Raleigh
Price range: $41 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
belfast, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice (and busy) restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Firstly I could not believe how busy this place was for 06 30 on a Tuesday evening. Nine of us dined in total and everyone's food was excellent. I had the rib eye which was first class, the staff were excellent. Would highly recommend.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    188
    113
    30
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Went out for our anniversary, enjoyed our oyster appetizer and our oscared steak. The waitress was very attentive. She even saw how cold I was and wrapped me in a blanket.

The waiting atmosphere was night next to the fireplace. Though it was crowded and busy, we still felt like we had an intimate dinner.

Overall, it was a very nice experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Turkey Lounge is the best!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

If you want great food in a relaxed setting the Turkey Lounge is the spot!!!! Great drinks, great food and comfortable atmosphere!!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Rustic elegance, excellent wine and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is a landmark restaurant in Raleigh, and one that has hosted many celebrities over decades. The steaks are wonderful but you can't go wrong with the chicken or fish either. There are great places to lounge while sipping a glass of wine or a cocktail. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming. The homemade cheese and crackers are always delicious. We've always enjoyed our dining experiences at The Angus Barn.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Angus Barn - Long standing Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I've lived in Raleigh almost my entire life and the Angus Barn is and always has been one of the best run restaurants. The atmosphere and the service are always impeccable. They start you off with cheeses and an olive/vegetable plate which is fabulous. I'm not a wine expert, but for those who are there is an extensive wine cellar which you can tour by the way. The entrees are always good, although this is steak place not a gourmet restaurant. There is a wide selection of desserts and all the one's I've had have been terrific, although I'm partial to the Blackberry Cobbler. The price is a little high, but for special occasions or a business meeting you can't go wrong.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Angus Barn also viewed

 

Been to The Angus Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Angus Barn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.