We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two very different experiences at one table” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Point at Glenwood

The Point at Glenwood
1626 Glenwood Ave, Raleigh, NC 27608
(919) 755-1007
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Point at Glenwood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #401 of 1,235 Restaurants in Raleigh
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Fairview Rd
Transit: The CAT bus stops are right across the street inbound and on the corner of Glenwood Ave and Fairview Rd outbound.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Two very different experiences at one table”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I were in town for a wedding, and decided to stop here for lunch. They were short-staffed, but all the servers were really friendly and getting things done at a reasonable rate. My husband ordered the pizza buffet, which was a great deal for $6.99. The salad had fresh veggies, crisp and flavorful, and he was really pleased with the pizza. I, on the other hand, had a $10 cheeseburger that was disappointing. I was told it would come with bacon, and it didn't. The cheese was rubbery, and the patty wasn't anything amazing. The fries were good, but I definitely didn't think it was worth $10. If you go, get the pizza.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food, great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

After a movie at the Rialto, the girlfriend and I decided to drop in for dinner. We didn't have a reservation, but they were able to seat us quickly.
We decided on Fried olives with Anchovy for starters. Turned out to be a fantastic choice, could eat two orders on my own.
Then we had the Paella for Two as the entree. Again, a really great choice. I've eaten a lot of paella and the paella here is top notch at a good price.
$75 for two, with drinks.
We'll be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not impressed at all!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Not impressed at all. The waitress had to come back on 3 seperate occasions to tell us they were out of items on the menu. She also recommended the steak to my husband, which he ordered, and after he asked for A-1 we were also informed they were out of that. Dinner was $115 for 2 adults and 3 kids (and no alcoholic beverages ordered.) we could also tell the food had been under the heat lamp for way to long, coleslaw was warm and food was so hot we had to wait 5 minutes before we could eat it. We were seated at 7 and there were maybe 5 other tables, not busy at all.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place, best pizza, nice Sunday brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Had the family gathering here for Sunday brunch. Nice variety and very tasty options. Have had pizza here and it was exceptionally good. They make their own dough and bake in a wood fired oven. Highly recommended. Also a great place to come in for a drink at the bar and a pleasant conversation. Located at 5 points on Glenwood, parking on the street or in the rear.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Always a good choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I've never been disappointed at the Point.
Today it was a wedge salad with tasty bleu cheese dressing followed by a kitchen sink pizza with perfectly done crust.
And Lindsey our waitress had perfect timing. The staff is great.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Point at Glenwood also viewed

 

Been to The Point at Glenwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Point at Glenwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.