We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenwood Grill

Glenwood Grill
2603-151 Glenwood Avenue, Raleigh, NC 27608
(919) 782-3102
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Glenwood Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 1,264 Restaurants in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, International, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Oberlin Road
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Enjoyed a wonderful meal of shrimp and grits. Comfortable atmosphere with an attentive staff. Easy to accommodate my husband's gluten intolerance. Look forward to a return visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    31
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
raleigh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The restaurant is small and in a strip shopping center, but don't let that fool you. The food is marvelous. Just be sure to make a reservation.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A Raleigh classic,!Still terrific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

The Grill has been serving excellent food for many years, producing creative and tasty variations on Southern themes. Other creative restaurants have come along and added much to Raleigh's dining landscape. A recent visit to the Grill confirmed that it has kept up to date
and maintained its high quality of food and service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina, USA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“We Like It”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We go here fairly often. The food is good. It's a small place so it gets crowded very quickly. Some of the servers are very good and others aren't so good. The food is unusual in some ways and desirable.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yankee in the south
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

A foodie friend recommended we try the Glenwood Grill while on a trip to Raleigh. If they hadn't, I doubt we would have found this stylish eatery as it is tucked away in a storefront in a strip mall. While it's not much to look at from the outside, the interior is beautifully decorated with blond wood, modern lighting, and warm colors. The staff is well trained and friendly. Although the waiter wasn't familiar with this cocktail, he saw to it that the well appointed bar accomodated my request for planters punch producing a delicious version.

The menu was eclectic and the choices were interesting and while not cutting edge, the execution was flawless. My wife opted for the braised short ribs served over mashed potatoes gently infused with gorgonzola, a red wine reduction, sauteed rapines on the side. It was melt-in-the-mouth-give-me-some-more-delicious. I chose the organic salmon, grilled medium, served over an asparagus and artichoke risotto, garnished with shrimp. Perfectly cooked, perfectly delicious.

For dessert we shared the Bailey's chocolate pie, rich and silky, chocolate nirvana. Excellent coffee as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenwood Grill also viewed

 

Been to Glenwood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenwood Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.