We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Fave” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Margaux's Restaurant

Margaux's Restaurant
8111 Creedmoor Rd, Raleigh, NC 27613
(919) 846-9846
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Margaux's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #144 of 1,129 Restaurants in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: French, American, Seafood, International, Sushi, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine, Doing business, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Strickland
South Pole
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“Old Fave”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015 NEW

For more than twenty years and still going strong.

On this most recent visit, we were disappointed by an overcooked piece of chicken. (The Head Chef had the night off as we did not see him in the kitchen).

Still, we will always return to this old favorite.

$30-$35 per person, before tip, one glass of wine each, no dessert.

Allow an hour.

About my ratings:

In an effort to compare apples to apples, my ratings are strictly for establishments within thirty minutes travel of each-other. It makes no sense whatsoever to give five stars to a top Paris restaurant or hotel and then only give three stars to the very best hotel or restaurant on a small island simply because it’s not equal to a five star place in a big city. In my view, it's more important to say, "This is the very best place you'll find in the area.”

  • Visited April 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    30
    18
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“not good at all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

I'm honestly befuddled at all the positive reviews. I go to this shopping plaza a lot, for the nail salon next door and Tuesday Morning. I've been to this restaurant twice. First, it was a total disaster and I vowed to never come back. Still, my bf insisted and we went again. Again it was bad. Bland, tasteless food. The menu sounds good but the taste is completely absent.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“dinner with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

We found an extensive menu,not necessarily healthy choices. Every plate had something on it that would be regarded as empty calories. I had the duck and it was large, but layers of fat under the skin. It took a lot of work to get at the meat. which was otherwise tasty. Wait staff were comfortable in their work.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dinner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

First let me acknowledge that we didn't have a reservation but we're seated in a nice booth. The server was very nice. Our plan was to enjoy the 19.95 specials understanding the portions may be smaller. The spring rolls , ceaser salad,shrimp w/slaw and crab cake were all nice. The herbed steak we were told was a thin sirloin but still tender...mind you not a filet but tender. That was not the case. It was tough as nails but the broccoli was so under cooked the steak knife would not even cut it!
The scallops were nice. Won't go again this is a one and done restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great (Monday) Date Night Option”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Margaux's offers a whale of a deal for a date night on Mondays. The chef prepares: six appetizers, six entrees and six deserts. Each diner picks their favorite from the six options for $20/person. Tonight I had a rich soup. Skirt steak with mushrooms and veggies and a unique strawberry shortcake. All were delicious. Service was exemplary. We are on the patio in an intimate and subdued setting. I thoroughly enjoyed our meals.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margaux's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Margaux's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Margaux's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.