We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“And now for something completely different......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cowfish Sushi Burger Bar

The Cowfish Sushi Burger Bar
4208 Six Forks Road, Suite 100, Raleigh, NC 27609 (Formerly Cowfish)
919-784-0400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 1,236 Restaurants in Raleigh
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: The Cowfish brings to the world the first restaurant focusing on offering both the best sushi AND the best burger in town. Fresh, innovative and delicious, the sushi segment of the menu is powered by the success of sister company, eeZ Fusion & Sushi. All natural, creative and hearty, the burgers entice with fresh, never frozen, ingredients and bold flavors. Spiked hand-spun milkshakes, premium sakes, craft beers, wine and 10oz exotic martinis round out a huge bar menu that is sure to please. The Cowfish aims to offer something for the entire family. Scrumptious appetizers for sharing, hot soups and entree-sized salads, homemade desserts and a fun kid's menu are joined by our signature creations that we call "Burgushi"! A cutting edge fusion of burger and sushi, burgushi items include sushi rolls created using burger components, and pick-up style sandwiches created using sushi components. If you can't make up your mind, try a bento box to sample a mini-burger along with your choice of sushi roll and three tasty side items!
Bald Head Island, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“And now for something completely different......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Good friends introduced us to Cowfish. Knowing that we liked adventure, burgers and beer they took us there for an early dinner. The place is amazing. The decor is quite different as is the menu: Burgers and Sushi!? The preset burgers were interesting indeed but the build-your-own-burger ingredient list was over the top! If it is available it's on the list. We wnjoyed the experience and will go back. Early dining is a must, we think, if noise will be an issue. By the time we left at about 6:45 on a Thursday, the place was full. The waiting line was already forming as evidenced by a very creative wait-list - you'll have to go to see it - and the noise was building. Other reviews noted that the noise level was high, and it was, but we did not find it to be awful. We cannot attest to the sushi as we did not indulge. We enjoyed it and will likely return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    41
    19
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Hard to describe, Real easy to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

At the recommendation of a friend we decided to have lunch here. We’ll definitely go back for dinner the next time we’re in Raleigh. The simplest explanation is that the cuisine attempts to blend meat and fish. You can get a burger and you can get sushi….but what if you wanted both….in the same dish? Instead of putting maguro in your roll why not try pulled pork, or steak, or lamb? This is the essence of Cowfish. Most of us would regard fish as the sacred mantle of sushi but one can argue that umami can come from many sources. There were so many things on the menu that we wanted to try but there wasn’t enough time and certainly not enough room in my stomach. I settled on a blend of the two fortes of Cowfish; a burger and some sushi. One of the menu options is a fusion bento box which allows you to choose a mini version of any burger they sell, a 4 piece serving of any roll on the menu (may be an upcharge for the more expensive rolls) and you get edamame, cucumber salad (with a little bite!), and sweet potato fries. The burger (stringin’ the blues) was juicy and full of flavor. Mark’s roll was delicious and obviously fresh, and the sides were great. For those averse to fish there is a whole list of rolls that contain meat. You will find no end of things to try, meaning you’ll want to come back again (and again and again). The décor is funky, the bathrooms talk to you, and there is a big, drink-shaped fish tank in the middle of the room. Don’t ask questions, just go and try it out….you won’t be dissappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Study of menu is required”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Trendy eatery located in North Hills. Went on a Friday night, good thing we arrived when we did, the wait time ended up peaking at 2 hours. We ended up waiting 30 minutes over our quoted time. The bar seemed to be happening from what I could see and hear. There is a well appointed aquarium with exotic fish in the bar area. Decor seems to be going for the pop art theme. Our Server (Bart?) was patient , helpful, thorough and attentive. The menu is time consuming to review as it vast array of choices. Making a decision can be difficult. If you want the best of both worlds, opt for one of the Bento Boxes (Burger, Sushi and sides). Appetizer-The Truffle Parmesan Fries (not the exact name on the menu, is their take on loaded fries), were delicious and filling. All in all, we enjoyed our experience and be sure to visit on our next Raleigh trip.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun atmosphere ... Horrible food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Sometimes a long wait can be justified by great food but this was not the case. I can't remember if I have ever read a longer menu than theirs. Normally I avoid sushi restaurants with the huge sushi roll menu like the bad movies with so many starting actors. I had a bento box to try both burger and sushi. It turn out to be a sushi chef's nightmare and McDonald's kids menu's reject. The sushi rice is so sticky it could have been used for a thai coconut rice and the burger was dry. There is no topping which can make a great burger if the meat patty is not hot and juicy. Maybe they precook the meat patties? Some people said their sushi is the best in the triangle. Give me a break! They need to try one made by true Japanese sushi chef.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Food and a lot of choices!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Those that have written....take your time, wait, slow....are correct but going in we knew this. A group of 5 went recently for a late lunch on a Saturday afternoon. We were seated immediately however it was quite some time before we actually got waited on which was ok since the menu is very lengthy and in FINE PRINT. By the time our order was taken I had changed my mind several times just due to the various plates of food being delivered past our table. One couple with us had been there before so was able to help in what they have had in the past and what was good. We ordered the Cucumber Salad as an appetizer and it was very different but I could have eaten it as a main dish myself. We proceeded to order various Hamburgers with everything you can ever think of on them. The one with Blue Cheese was delicious, one DP ordered the one on rye bread and had pimento cheese spread. He raved about it but I had to take his word on that one. Due to the size of the portions we ended up taking 3 half hamburgers and a half of the chicken sandwich home for dinner later. Would visit this place again because the food and atmosphere were very good and entertaining. Due to us being in town to visit with the family the longer wait for the service and food was perfectly fine and allowed time to talk and enjoy each others company and not feel rushed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cowfish Sushi Burger Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Cowfish Sushi Burger Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cowfish Sushi Burger Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.