We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Glenwood Ave, Raleigh, NC 27603   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 80 hotels in Raleigh
Raleigh, United States
1 review
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This hotel is wonderful! The staff is well-trained and extremely welcoming! It is within walking distance of so many bars and restaurants AND there is a shopping center called Cameron Village that is only a mile away! Not a walking distance mile, but very short drive!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonRaleighDwntwn, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Madelyn D,

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your experience with other travelers. One of the many great aspects of our hotel is its location in downtown Raleigh and all that is offers! I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Hospitably,

Maddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    51
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
48
46
8
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

I travel to Durham often for work and decided to stay over the weekend. I wanted to check out Raleigh and someone suggested this hotel since its new.
-Rooms are pretty standard but definitely clean and in good condition. No tub in my bathroom and only had paper cups, minor but still.
-Location is great with a lot to walk to in this hip looking area.
-Breakfast is pretty good - eggs, bacon, make your own waffles, etc.
-What really makes this place shine is the staff: everyone was super attentive, friendly, and had a great customer service attitude. Josh was helpful with check in and got me a glass glass for my evening beverage. Katie was also friendly and proactively helpful, and got me some regular milk for my coffee after the breakfast area closed. Thanks Katie!

If you travel often like I do, you expect standard stuff like clean rooms, enough towels, etc, but it's staff like Josh and Katie who make staying away from home a good experience.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonRaleighDwntwn, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us for the weekend! I am so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and received such great service from Josh and Kaite! Our service is something that we pride ourselves in and strive to make sure we provide the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This hotel exceeded our expectations for the Raleigh area. It is clean and well managed. It feels more like a Hilton than a Hampton Inn.

The gym overlooks the pool which was a little on the cold side, our only complaint.

The lounge areas in the lobby are so nice. They have more than one and offer complimentary snacks in the evening and beverages.

You do have to pay extra for parking but it is in a secured parking deck

We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There was a bar that had loud music until late so make sure you aren't facing that bar. Not sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonRaleighDwntwn, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us! I am so happy that we were able to exceed your expectations! We are always striving to provide that best service out there and make sure our guests feel at home while with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alaska, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Great hotel, new facility, located right on Glenwood in walking distance of everything. I never moved my car. Staff is awesome. Parking.....not so convenient if you have a lot of luggage. For instance, I had to pull into the unload zone, unload, take luggage to room on cart, come back downstairs, move car across the street to garage. Then to leave, go across street to get car, then back up to get luggage by cart, load car....need bellman and valet. Otherwise perfect. Parking is cheap 6 bucks unlimited access in and out

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonRaleighDwntwn, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us! We are conveniently located within walking distance to many different restaurants and entertainment venues. If we are not close enough, we are also located right on the R-Line bus route which is a complimentary city bus that takes you all over downtown Raleigh.

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding the parking situation. If you stay with us again, do not hesitate to ask any of our associates if they would park your car for you! We do it all the time for our guests and love to do so! Anything that can make our guests' experience better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I had the extreme pleasure of staying with these great people for 9 1/2 weeks. I was training for a new position with a new company and was required to be away from home for this extended period. We all know, living out of suitcases is hard and trying. Here, in this location with these great people, it was not. I have stayed in boutique hotels all around the world and payed FAR greater rates to do so, the service at the Raleigh Hampton Inn Downtown, exceeded ALL of them in every imaginable way. When coming in late and tired a beer would be offered, I was allowed to keep some things in the office while on a quick two day trip home. Katie at the desk made me home made cookies to cheer me up. The list goes on and on. EVERY single person in this hotel greets you every time with a smile and asks how you are doing. The hotel is new, (Dec 2012) and VERY clean. I hope you all have the pleasure of staying here at least for a night, just to see what true hospitality is like. I have been a fan of Hampton Inn's and now I am a RAVING FAN! I will miss the people of this hotel and hope to run into them in the future. Kevin

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonRaleighDwntwn, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Kevin,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with other travelers! We sincerely enjoyed having you as our guest and I am so happy that we were able to make our hotel your home away from home! We sure do miss you around here and hope that you are enjoying your new job in Alaska! We hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Maddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We wre here for two nights and LOVED the location, there are many bars, restaurants and clubs nearby, even a sweet gift shop with lots of unique hand made gifts in a nice range of prices, a few blocks away on Glenwood called Banjo Cat. Do try Plates for a meal-also on Glenwood. There was easy access to many main highways making it easy to travel witin the city/state if this is your base. The room like most Hampton Inn's was spotless, the gym was larger than most and there was a very clean indoor pool , what a plus. The hotel is pretty new and has a very comfortable lobby with two inviting sitting areas. I was intitially concerned about the proximity of the clubs to the hotel but did not encounter any problems the train which our room faced was noiser waking us up early one morning. While all the staff was pleasant and helpful Katie deserves special recognition, she was terrfic , warm and very helpful with directions and her overall upbeat attiitude . She made us feel like VIP guests , it was a real pleasure to interact with her. You should be aware that parking is across the street in a commerical lot . This was a problem during a heavy downpour and weekend nights when all of the hotel reserved and lower level parking spots were taken . It didn't feel dangerous just uncomforable when you are tired to have to walk down several levels back to the hotel ( in heels) there is not a direct connection into the hotel and there is an extra charge of $6.00 per day. This is the first time I have had to pay for parking at a Hampton Inn. Overall I would be happy to stay here again and probably will since I have family in the area .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonRaleighDwntwn, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Eve26,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review! I am so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will hopefully be seeing you again soon! I am so joyed that Katie provided such great service as she always does for you. She is one of many stars within our Front Office team! The service she provides still amazes even us and I will be ecstatic to share your feedback with her and the rest of our team.

I would like to extend my sincerest apologies for the train waking you up early in the morning. For any future stays you may have with us, do not hesitate to call the hotel directly and request that we place you in a room away from the train. We always make sure to honor room requests when we are able.

Again, thank you very much for sharing you experience with other travelers!

Hospitably,

Maddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is a very clean hotel and everyone is very nice. The only problem we experienced was the noise of the train track that was next to the hotel. It is extremely loud and kept us up most of the night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonRaleighDwntwn, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Teresa A,

Thank you very much for your nice review! Here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Raleigh, we strive to provide world class hospitality and service.

I greatly apologize about the train the came through during your stay. If you would like, for any future reservations, do not hesitate to call us directly and ask for a room away from the railroad tracks. We always do our best to honor requests, especially when it come to room location.

Hospitably,

Madelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown

Address: 600 Glenwood Ave, Raleigh, NC 27603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 80 hotels in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.