We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a Hampton Inn?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Glenwood Ave, Raleigh, NC 27603   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Raleigh
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“This is a Hampton Inn?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I can't believe that this is a Hampton Inn. This hotel is modern and spotless and has an incredibly friendly and helpful front desk staff. They're not "hotel helpful" they are legitimately helpful--day and night--and go out of their way to ensure that your stay is excellent. The hotel is situated in a cute neighborhood with lots of restaurants within walking distance and has easy parking in the garage across the street. I normally wouldn't have considered staying in a Hampton Inn, but now when I return to Raleigh I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonRaleighDwntwn, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We are sure glad we could change your mind on staying at a Hampton Inn & Suites. We hope every time you come back to our majestic city you will stay here with us, the Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown. We are your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    65
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
62
62
13
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The most positive aspect of the hotel is its location. Plenty of good restaurants are within walking distance (several across the street or on the same block). Access to the city is very easy. The building is new and the rooms are comfortable. Breakfast was average. The staff were very helpful, friendly, and welcoming. The only surprise was a charge for the parking. A parking fee is not something one is used to with the Hampton brand, but at six dollars it is reasonable for a downtown location. I will stay here again if I return to Raleigh.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonRaleighDwntwn, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We thank you for such a great review. We take pride in our service and hospitality and we are always looking for new ways to go above and beyond the call of duty. We hope you come back to Raleigh, Nc soon and come stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syosset, NY
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Not strictly Downtown - actually Glenwood South, which is fine. Near many restaurants and 3 R-line (free bus) stops. The R-line goes all over downtown, so you can leave your car behind for a bit.

The staff works as a great team together -so friendly and helpful esp Joseph who set us up with Mo's Diner for a great dinner and offered great suggestions throughout our stay.

No real view rooms here, but ours was quiet. Small pool which we did use. Easy parking $6 very close. About references to nearby clubs: severals restaurants, stores and clubs but that's a real positive to me and they didn't bother us at all. Actually they were fun to have - all that fun activity and buzz around us right there.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonRaleighDwntwn, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We try to foster a fun environment here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown. Although we do sit in prime location, it is our service and hospitality that keeps our guests coming back for me. We truly hope you come and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel has a lot of amenities. Free happy hour, heavy hors deuvres. Conveniently located to downtown Raleigh. Free bus service right down the hill from the hotel. I would stay there again if I was going to be in Raleigh.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonRaleighDwntwn, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We thought our Manager’s Reception was a nice touch as well! Its small things like our MR that sets up apart as well as showcases how much we really care for our guests. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we walked in we felt welcome here. I would highly recommend this hotel and I have nothing negative to say!

The staff are fantastic - especially Josh and Austin. They were both very helpful and knowledgeable, friendly and professional.

The hotel is in an excellent location. The rooms are immaculate and well appointed. There is no safe, but one didnt need to be used as the staff were so trustworthy.

There were also little touches - for example, when the housekeeper saw there was a female staying, she left makeup remover towelettes. Wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonRaleighDwntwn, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown, this is your home away from home! We are always welcomed to see you when you come to visit. And we always want you to stay with us! Please come back soon. We already miss you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

A wonderful location with cool bars/restaurants just around the corner. Will definetly stay there again. Rooms are excellent and the beds are so so comfortable. the complimentary breakfast is about what one would expect but not bad. The staff was extremely helful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonRaleighDwntwn, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
A well written review of the quality of your stay, AND you’re coming back?!? We must have found the perfect formula for the perfect stay! Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

The best thing about this hotel is the staff at the front desk and in the breakfast room. The rooms were comfortable, clean and spacious. The location is super central for bars and some restaurants.

The only negative was not being able to open the window in the room.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonRaleighDwntwn, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown, we feel like we have the greatest staff in Hospitality simply because we service the best guests in the world. We are always excited to hear from our beloved guests. Come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown

Address: 600 Glenwood Ave, Raleigh, NC 27603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.