We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible food, less than good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ORO Restaurant & Lounge

ORO Restaurant & Lounge
18 E. Martin Street, Raleigh, NC 27601
(919) 239-4010
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
ORO Restaurant & Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 1,235 Restaurants in Raleigh
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Wilmington
Description: ORO features generously portioned, sharable tapas-style comfort food re-interpreted for a modern palate.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Incredible food, less than good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Some girlfriends & I decided to try a new place during Downtown Restaurant Week & Oro sounded very good & different. Well, we were all VERY impressed with the decor & the menu. Definitely did not feel like we were in Raleigh which was very fun. The executive chef came by our table to greet us before we had even been served, which was a very nice touch. All of our 3 course meals were delicious. They were hot, tasty & very unique. Also, the plating was exquisite. However, our server really put a damper on the entire evening. She had an attitude from the moment we sat down. We were there to have some time away from the "duties" of our families and were expecting to be well taken care of in a high class dining atmosphere. For whatever reason, she seemed put out with us so pretty much ignored us all evening. The only out of the ordinary request that we had was we asked for a different table because the AC unit was dripping condensation on our table, in our glasses, on our heads, etc. She said they were completely booked and it was just water :-(. Not good customer service at all. We finished our meal with coffee which was never refilled. Our checks took forever to come and our payments to be processed. We would have all easily given this restaurant a 5 but just could not because of the poor service. We'll try again & hope to get another server. By the way, the person who actually brought our food to the table was lovely & had a great attitude!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    19
    8
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Love the iPad ordering system”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Went to Oro specifically because I read that the waiters use iPads to order the food. Our waiter was very gracious and was willing to show us how the system worked. He was also very forthcoming about the pros (can spend more time with customers, greater accuracy of orders) and cons (long time to close out at the end of a shift) of the system. Once the food arrived we forgot about the ordering system and focused on the food. All the tapas were excellent - especially the dumplings and the fish tacos. Will definitely return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Tapas Restauraunt!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We did not want anything heavy, too filling, or a large meal so tapas it was. This was our first time at Oro and we loved it!! The Asian pear salad was very large (def. enough for 2) and flavorful. I was worried it might be too much sesame or similarly flavored but it was perfect! Next the veal ravioli was good but the sauce they were in made them excellent. Lastly for our main course were the crispy shrimp. Again, they were good but the (sort of) sweet and sour sauce made them better, BUT I FELL IN LOVE with the 'slaw' that came with them. I could've eaten a whole bowl of that alone. Lastly the Banana Bread Pudding was magnificent!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A bit of South Beach in downtown Raleigh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

I just love this place! It has a clean sexy white interior and you can see the kitchen and bar from the whole restaurant. It's very "south beach" the most amazing cocktails and tapas. Have drinks here after work or go for cocktails before you hit the other great bars down town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great Atmosphere with wonderful food! Love the all white decor. Service was stellar, our waiter was knowledgable and classy. The chef came out to check on the food which was a treat. We ordered 6 small plates between 3 people. The first 3 were amazing. The gnocchi is up there in the top 10 best dishes I've ever eaten. The next 3 were very good but not at the same level, obviously we ordered our favorites first. I will definitely go back, as there are a few other things I'd like to try.
Dessert was yummy but have to go back to try the Campfire ( a fun make your own s'mores dessert) Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ORO Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 
 

Been to ORO Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ORO Restaurant & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.