We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tastey Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CInco de Mayo

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
CInco de Mayo
2549 S. Saunders St., Raleigh, NC
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #531 of 1,235 Restaurants in Raleigh
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Pittstown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Tastey Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Went here while for dinner on a business trip. It's convenient location, but it didn't seem to be in the best of areas - then again, I've never been to Raleigh before. Service was prompt and the waiter kept coming to my table asking if everything was ok. When I ordered, the waiter didn't know what I was asking for, so he had to look at the menu and read the description of what I ordered. Strange. Nevertheless, the food quantity was large; i couldn't finish. I would go here again if in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Horrible Place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This place is horrible! I had lunch there with co-workers and they never served me my food! Waited for over an hour. Four of my co-workers never received their food either! The waitress was rude and dismissive as well as kitchen management. I asked to speak with the manager and the staff there acted like they did not understand my request! No one apologized!!!! Do not eat here!!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A different authentic Mexican restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

The menu at Cinco de Mayo is different from many of the other authentic Mexican places in this area, but not too Americanized. They have some dishes I haven't seen elsewhere. My husband and I often share the Mojajete (sp?) and it's plenty for two. The chicken and steak are superb, the shrimp tender and it comes with sautéed green onions and cactus.

You heard me, cactus. See, told you it was different.

Another favorite of ours there is the chorizo queso dip. The salsa is nothing special but that dip is to die for.

Also love their mango frozen margaritas. Yum.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not your run of the mill Mexican fare..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We eat here weekly. We have never had a bad meal. The menu does not resemble the avarage Mexican restaurant...only one small section of "combo" meals offered.
The Queso Fudido appetizer is a must try!! On weeknights they have $10 margarita pitcher specials and boy are they are TASTY! I usually order one of the chicken dishes. They are all superb. Great food. great service and great prices...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great meal, modest price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Enjoyed a great meal in a relaxed atmosphere. Service was very good. Location very convenient. good menu selection.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CInco de Mayo also viewed

 

Been to CInco de Mayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CInco de Mayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.