We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to RBC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Arena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Arena to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Arena
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Hurricane Alley Way, Raleigh, NC 27607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #24 of 80 Hotels in Raleigh
Charleston SC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Close to RBC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

We stayed at the Comfort Suites Arena on 3/21/09. I chose it because it was the closest to the RBC Center, less than a five minute walk.The hotel was clean & quiet.The room was large & comfortable. I would stay again the next time we see the Hurricanes play.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    25
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
21
19
4
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

Recently stayed at this hotel for a business meeting at the university. The rate was slightly discounted for people attending the meeting. The staff was always friendly and went out of their way to help us. The shuttle took us to dinner a few times and also the airport. The continental breakfast in the morning was better than most places. Also they had free wine/beer and snacks every evening 5-7pm, Mon-Thurs. for guests. The pool was nice and clean. The room was much larger than expected with a mini-fridge and microwave, dining table, living room area and two comfortable queen beds. Overall we were very impressed and will stay here again for upcoming meetings.

  • Liked — Overall value
  • Disliked — workout room is small
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

When I made my reservation, I was told there was a Damons next to it. There is but it is CLOSED!

I was told there is a shuttle service to airport, Nothing after 4 on Sunday.

I was told because of the weekend I was there, a lot going on, AAA wouldn't be honored. Found out people staying there ,some were honored.

Don't believe what they tell you!

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2008

STayed here when we went to the RBC Center to see a Hurricanes game. Didn't spend hardly any time in the room, but it was comfortable. If you are going to the RBC Center I would recommend staying here. You can walk there and back.

Stayed February 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights at the end of December for a horse show at the NC State Fair which is right next door. You can't beat this place for convenience to the fairgrounds or NC State!

Each room has a pull-out couch and either 2 queens or 1 king -- no doubles! The beds were just as comfy as those in higher end hotels (Marriott, Westin, etc) since they have extra-thick pads and comfortable sheets and covers. I was a little nervous, having read the reviews on this site claiming bed bugs and smoky smell, but I had no trouble with either of these things. My room was very clean and smelled nice (room 204).

Each room also has a small dining table which seats 4 people, a fridge and a microwave oven. The shower and toilet are in a separate room from the sink, which is nice when you travel as a family. The room also had an ironing board, iron and room safe.

I thought the hotel had great sound-proofing. I never heard the room of kids next door to me nor did I hear anyone above me or outside my room, and there were a lot of kids in this hotel.

The dining area was very large, which was great. I've been to some hotels that offer a continental breakfast that have 4 or 5 tables, but this one had 15 or more. There was a big screen TV in the dining area as well. We used this room to have a big group pizza party one night. For breakfast, they had the standard continental breakfast fare of danishes, fruit, cereal, juice, bagels, but also had a waffle iron to make your own hot waffles. That was a big hit.

Although we didn't use them, we did see an outdoor pool and small workout room.

The mall is less than 10 minutes away. There is also a Harris Teeter shopping center less than 10 minutes away that has a Starbucks and Caribou if you need your special morning coffee.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Plenty of room in each hotel room for families.
  • Disliked — An indoor pool would have been nice.
  • Stayed December 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, NC
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2007

Date of Stay October 12, 2007
We have on occasion stayed at Choice Privileges hotels like Comfort Suites so we decided to stay the night prior to visiting the NC State Fair for an early morning start with the family. We arrived at 8:30 pm and immediately upon entering the room it smelled all throughout the room of cigarette smoke. We were told all other rooms were booked. We decided to tough it out due to a short stay only to wake up in the middle of the night to find out the toilet handle had broken. We were asked during check-out how the stay was and we shared our experience and as a Choice Privilege member we didn’t even receive an apology for the inconvenience for the stay. We will not be staying at this property again in the future or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2006

If you're going to an event at the state-of-the-art RBC Center or fabulous Carter-Finley Stadium facilities, this is the most convenient location you'll find. Directly behind Damon's on Trinity Road, it's a short walk to either venue.

One would be wise to check rates closely as they (expectedly) raise them during special events. However, for most Carolina Hurricanes games they are very economical ($89 for a night during the week). Such was the case for our first stay the Monday after Christmas.

On this most recent stay, the room was clean and expansive, with two queens and a pullout sofa. Amenities were typical (although in-room shampoo was omitted for some reason), with the requisite evening Manager's Reception and Continental Breakfast. The breakfast did appear to be a little skimpy with narrow selections, but it was adequate and certainly consistent with what was advertised.

Pool was outdoors, but appeared to be open (although no one was taking advantage of this convenience on a chilly December 26).

It is worth noting that the rooms appear to be very well sound-proofed. Also, the location itself is very quiet, which sometimes can be an issue with hotels close to arenas and stadiums.

All-in-all, it was a very satisfactory stay; the building is still new enough to make this a clean and up-to-date lodging option.

  • Liked — Location and proximity to the RBC Center and NC State University's Carter-Finley Stadium
  • Disliked — Having to go down to get extra towels versus having them delivered; missing shampoo in room
  • Tips/Secrets — Damon's is an excellent place for a pregame meal, but you'll need to get there VERY early before an event.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Arena

Address: 1200 Hurricane Alley Way, Raleigh, NC 27607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Raleigh
#25 Family Hotel in Raleigh
#27 Business Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Arena 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites(R) Arena is conveniently located across from the PNC Arena, home of the Carolina Hurricanes. This elegant all-suite hotel is just minutes from North Carolina State University, Carter-Finley Stadium, North Carolina State Fairgrounds, Governor James B. Hunt Jr. Horse Complex and North Carolina Museum of Arts. The hotel features elegant ambiance and amenities including:Spacious and elegant suites with refrigerator, microwave and sofa beds, 42" LCD Televisions with high-definition programming, Backyard Bistro Sports Bar & Grille at the hotel entrance,Free wireless high-speed Internet access,Evening receptions with beverages and appetizers every Tuesday and Wednesday, "Your Morning Breakfast" is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Suites Arena the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meats, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast.Guests of this Raleigh, NC hotel will also enjoy free local calls and a free weekday newspaper. Workout in the state of the art exercise room with cardiovascular equipment, or take a dip in the seasonal outdoor pool. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like free high-speed Internet access in all rooms, business center, two-line telephones with voice mail and access to copy and fax services. The two meeting rooms accommodate up to 40 people for most events and business functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Arena Hotel Raleigh
Comfort Suites Raleigh
Raleigh Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.