We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What FUN!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pullen Park

Pullen Park
520 Ashe Ave, Raleigh, NC 27606
919-831-6468
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 68 attractions in Raleigh
Type: Parks
Attraction Details
South Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What FUN!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

What a grand place for families to enjoy time with their childen! Fantasic the way they have it set up with playgrounds thru out the park each one built for certain ages!!! Wish there were playgrounds like this when I was growing up! Paddle boats on a beautiful duck pond a train gardens beauty everywhere. One downside I say this with a heartfelt warning! The gorgous carousel (and Its beautiful) is not for the faint of heart we got on there and had to hold onto the kids for dear life it went dangerously fast. If not for the carousel I would of rated this a 5! GORGOUS STATUES OF ANDY & OPIE take you down memory lane this is a must for families, a sure dont miss!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    87
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Since the renovation, great family place on nice weather day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

It's free to go, but if you want to ride the train or carousel, there is a small fee for that. The playground is awesome for kids and it's just a nice place. Could be a little crowded, but good place to take the kids and burn off some energy on the weekend.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

It's a fun place to visit with your young kids.
There are carousels, boats for rent, etc, to take advantage of.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Had some time to spare......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

.....so we decided to visit Pullen Park before checking in to our B&B in Raleigh for our weekend getaway.

Pullen Park was only 5 minutes from or B&B, so we decided to stop in and just check it out. Boy, did we love it! We did feel a little out of place because we didn't have any kids with us (daughter stayed at her grandparents for the weekend). The park was FULL of little ones. It is definitely aimed at families with kids, but we did see other couples walking their dog, so we weren't the only ones there that didn't have little ones with us.

We walked all the way around to where the paddle boats are and we just sat on a bench for a little while, enjoying the scenery. It was beautifully maintained and it had something for everyone. Play area for the kids, paddle boats for the whole family, walking path for the leisurely walk and it even had a snack area with drinks and snacks for purchase. We didn't purchase anything, so I'm not sure exactly what they had.

If you're in the Raleigh area and looking for something fun and relatively cheap for the family, Pullen Park is a great option. Parking was scarce, but they did have an overflow parking lot right across the street.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great for the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a fun place to take the kids for a few hours. My son really loves it because it has a large playground, boats, a train, and a carousel. In the summer it can be unbearably hot. There are a few shady covered places to sit, but it's a "sweatfest " after a while. Waiting in line to buy tickets for rides can sometimes be difficult if the kids are with you. It's easier if you have more than one adult and you can divide and conquer while the kids play.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pullen Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullen Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pullen Park to your Saves list