We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hey owner - please invest in this place!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Raleigh

Days Inn Raleigh
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Days Inn Raleigh to your Saves list
Days Inn Raleigh
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 N. Dawson Street, Raleigh, NC 27603   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 80 Hotels in Raleigh
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Hey owner - please invest in this place!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The location was fine - right off of I-85 and within a short, pleasant walk down to central Raleigh. The front desk clerks (one per shift, apparently) were all friendly young ladies and as accommodating as could be, given their limited resources. Those are the positives.
Now the negatives -
- Musty, stinky hallways
- Broken ice machine
- Shattered mirror in second floor hallway (broken shards taped back on in a haphazard way)
- Our door did not seal, there was a large gap at bottom of our door where light and smells poured in all night
- Desk clerk (singular) expected to do double-duty stocking the very basic breakfast area (green bananas and over ripe oranges, anyone?)
- Bathtub faucet dripped constantly
- Blanket on our bed had a huge area (appx 5" x 5") where it appeared to have been burned through
- Peeling wallpaper in bathroom
- The workout room was a joke

One could argue that based on the low cost per night, you get what you pay for. But if I were the owner - and if only out of a sense of pride - I would invest in upgrades to this place or sell it to someone who can.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    47
    80
    64
    40
See reviews for
51
41
25
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Morehead City, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Jasmine, the desk clerk who checked us in, was welcoming, polite, and professional. Our room was comfortable and clean. The continental breakfast included cereal and waffles, pretty standard but hey, it was good. Part of the decorative laminate on the sink area was missing, but beyond that, my husband and I were satisfied with our stay.
The hotel is located near many attractions and good places to eat. We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

From the outside it seemed ok as well as the lobby. But once you opened the door to the hallway it smelled like old musty cigarette smoke. Ceiling tiles bubbled down from leaking roof. The room smelled like a old mans calone. Beds were horrible towel rack fell apart when towel was placed on it. Sink didn't drain A/C didn't work TV was from the 80's lamp beside bed didn't work and the button to turn it on was missing. Found empty cigarette boxes and condom rappers in the nightstand drawer! The best thing about this hotel was the hot water would scorch the filth acquired from staying the night in the room! I booked thru a call center who i realized used orbits and they said this hotel was fabulous! Lies lies lies.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Minutes after arriving in my room, I found non-working outlets, broken bathroom fixtures (towel rack, etc.), and a broken refrigerator knob (temperature setting). I requested another room and they moved me upstairs. The next room had lamps with torn lamp shades, non-working outlets, gnats and mosquitos in the bathroom, stained towels, and a coffee maker that leaked. I was surprised how little the front desk staff knew about local businesses and directions. The housekeeping staff kept piles of dirty linens in the hallway overnight. The guest laundry room was dirty, with trash and dirty clothes laying around. The guest drying machine did not work and there was no sign telling us so. The room reeked over tobacco smoke, which was absorbed by my clothes. The hallways smelled like smoke, too. The only benefit of this hotel was the location, as it was walking distance to local attractions.

Room Tip: Inspect the room, before accepting it. It may have broken outlets and appliances like mine did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Raleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Raleigh

Address: 300 N. Dawson Street, Raleigh, NC 27603
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 80 Hotels in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Raleigh 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Wyndham, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Raleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Raleigh Hotel Raleigh
Raleigh Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Raleigh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.