We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite restaurant in the Triangle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gonza Tacos y Tequila

Gonza Tacos y Tequila
7713-39 Lead Mine Road, Raleigh, NC 27612
919-846-5478
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Gonza Tacos y Tequila is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 1,235 Restaurants in Raleigh
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Come experience the best Mexican restaurant in Raleigh.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant in the Triangle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The wait is long, but soooo worth it.

There is a ghost menu with extra items. Ask for the scallop tacos! The food is so good here. The service is excellent. Mr. Gonza himself roams the restaurant and is great to talk to. He gave my wife a free shot of tequila and dessert on her birthday.

We try to go once a week and it's not nearly enough.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    44
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Knightdale, North Carolina
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“My new favorite place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I can't help it....I'm in love. This place is terrific. So much better than the run-of-the-mill Mexican options available to us elsewhere in town. This is a Colombian/Mexican/Carribean fusion sort of thing. The atmosphere in the facility can do nothing but make you smile and forget where you are for a while. The food is so fresh and delicious. You want to talk about great bar service?!? Wow...their bartenders make some really mean drinks. My favorite is the Mexican Mohito. The owner is almost always on site making sure you are receiving the best of care. It does get very, very busy on Friday and Saturday nights, so go early or be prepared for a crowded wait. I will say that it is worth the wait though!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Try this for food from Colombia and Mexico”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My wife and I have eaten here twice and we have enjoyed both meals. The flavors and spices anre outstanding. This is not your standard bland US-Mexican food. This food is full of flavor and taste. I loved the Colombian fish dish and would urge everyone to try it.

The down side here is that this place is conistently full and you need to get here early or suffer the long waits. This is certainly a place to stop if you are hungry for food with flavor in North Raleigh.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“It is good, but it is not over the top good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The food was very good, and the service was very good, but I am surprised there are some many 5 star reviews of it. It is a step up from many of the Mexican restaurants in Raleigh, but I would not put it that far ahead of them. Worth a try, for sure yes, worth going back now and then, yes.

My only real negative comment is that it operates in a different space in terms of the amount of food you get vs. the presentation - meaning its portions are smaller than many of the other Mexican restaurants, and with an emphasis on presentation. Part of my review my be influenced because I was starving at the time and actually wanted a larger portion.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochster, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“OMG you have to eat here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was soooo good. We've always eaten at Dos Toquito's but tried this restaurant this time.....I think the owners are brothers??? Anyway...it was EXCELLENT and a bit less expensive. GREAT service. We had a waiter from Scotland (named Paco ha ha ) and it was great to meet him. Food was so good we couldn't stop talking about it. You won't be dissapointed. Sangri pitcher was great too.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gonza Tacos y Tequila also viewed

 

Been to Gonza Tacos y Tequila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gonza Tacos y Tequila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.