We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for one night or twenty nights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Raleigh - Crabtree

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Raleigh - Crabtree to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Raleigh - Crabtree
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4433 Lead Mine Road, Raleigh, NC 27612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 80 hotels in Raleigh
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great place for one night or twenty nights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Quiet location within walking distance to Crabtree Valley mall and several great restaurants. Friendly staff and clean rooms. Room was very spacious and comfy. Lights were wired kind of weird. It was hard to figure which one to turn off or on in order to get the others off or on. Small but functional fitness room and complimentary laundry machines. I highly recommend this place if you want a nice quiet stay.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generation42, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Raleigh - Crabtree, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Quiet location within walking distance to Crabtree Valley mall and several great restaurants. Friendly staff and clean rooms. Room was very spacious and comfy. Lights were wired kind of weird. It was hard to figure which one to turn off or on in order to get the others off or on. Small but functional fitness room and complimentary laundry machines. I highly recommend this place if you want a nice quiet stay.

I want to thank you for taking the time to do a nice review on our property. I agree, we are in a nice location across from the Crabtree Valley Mall. The lights have one main master switch which can turn off all the lights in the room or the other switches (individual switches), to pick and choose which lights you want on/off. We certainly look forward to having you stay with us again when you return to the area.

Darren Sheehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    32
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
27
33
46
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here with my fiance over the holidays and it was a DELIGHT. Clean, of course, comfy and ghostly quiet (if the parking lot was any indication, we practically had the place to ourselves.) The staff was friendly and relaxed. The suite included a full kitchen and big hot shower.

One big bonus that we visited multiple times was the Candlewood Cupboard. Need a snack? Antacid? Fresh coffee? Done. They had impressive snack selection and two easy ways to pay (cash in a slot or charge it to the room.)

There was also a complimentary bag of microwave popcorn in the room. That sounds like a small thing, but it's the small things that make a place feel like home.

We didn't take advantage of the free laundry, fully-equipped fitness center or DVD lending library, but next time we may stay a little longer!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generation42, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Raleigh - Crabtree, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you very much for the kind words! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write such a positive review and glad we made you feel right at home with us!

Kind regards,

Darren Sheehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

This is the perfect place for me to stay when I am traveling on business to Raleigh. The staff are courteous the facility Is wonderful and I felt more at home here than any other hotel I use for travel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generation42, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Raleigh - Crabtree, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comments, we certainly appreciate your feedback and I am glad we were able to make us your home away from home!

Best Regards,

Darren Sheehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

It is not just location, location, location although the Candlewood Suites Crabtree Raleigh has that going for it. It is also the accommodations. The rooms are comfortable, well appointed and clean. However, the best thing about the Candlewood Crabtree is the friendly and professional staff. I spend between 100-200 nights on the road each year and the Candlewood staff make me feel like I'am home.

Michael M

Room Tip: I have stayed in many different rooms and all are equally inviting
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generation42, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Raleigh - Crabtree, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We really appreciate you pointing out that the staff made you feel like home away from home. We certainly strive to give every guest that feeling along with clean, comfortable accommodations. Thank you for your kind words on the staff & hotel.


Darren Sheehan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

when I arrive at the hotel on March 4th 2012 I had originally booked a nonsmoking room well I
did get a that room but on a smoking hall it was the last on the hall
then my account was messed up , the GM is not friendly The room I was in smoke was coming through the vents for the other rooms. it was not a great experience for me but we stay because we were moving and but I will never return to another candlewood suite and would not recommend anyone to go there

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Raleigh - Crabtree, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Ispaine,

Thank you for staying at our hotel. We greatly appreciate your business! Please accept my deep apologies if your stay was negatively affected by your room and our GM. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention and trust that we will address the issues and assure you that proper measures will be taken to ensure that there will not be a recurrence.

We look forward to having the opportunity to host you in the near future to allow you to experience our commitment to quality and service.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Well maintained facility & pro-active staff as well. Spent 4 nights @Candlewood & enjoyed every evening. One of the best places I've stayed. One more thing, if the wife is happy...everybody is happy :) THANX Candlewood Suites !!!

Room Tip: The location was great for us...just minutes away from where we needed to be. Very well insulated fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SParamore, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Raleigh - Crabtree, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Charlie C,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We're thrilled the wife was happy...that makes us happy too! We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us and it pleases us that you enjoyed every evening. We strive to make every guest experience a pleasurable one. When you're planning your next stay to Raleigh, we hope to see you again at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed there 3 times (1st time in 2009) for 2 to 4 weeks at a time and it always makes me feel like home away from home. Good location across the street from a mall and close to the inner belt line make it a good choice for business trips. The room has a small cooking corner with a regular dishwasher, full size refrigerator, LCD TV with wireless internet, a desk and comfortable chair. The bed is very high (american style I guess) but comfortable. At the location you have a small gym and laundry free of charge, and also a small area for coffee and wrapped goods. The coffee is free but it's not espresso (dirty water as the Italian say :) ) and the other goods are not expensive and what I like is that you write what you have taken on a bill sheet to pay at checkout...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SParamore, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Raleigh - Crabtree, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Niko25ro,

Thank you for your wonderful comments! We are pleased you have chosen us as your hotel each time you return to Raleigh. I'm sure you've noticed the updates done over the past two years including our HDTV's! By the end of this year, we will have a new bedding package that will make your stay even more comfortable upon your return. We look forward to another opportunity to provide you with great guest service and excellent accommodations. We appreciate the time you took to review our hotel.

With warm regards,


Shelly Paramore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites Raleigh - Crabtree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Raleigh - Crabtree

Address: 4433 Lead Mine Road, Raleigh, NC 27612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Raleigh
#6 Business Hotel in Raleigh
#11 Romantic Hotel in Raleigh
#17 Family Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Raleigh - Crabtree 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across from Crabtree Valley Mall, we are conveniently located near I440 at Exit 7 and at the corner of Glenwood Avenue and Lead Mine Road. The Candlewood Suites Raleigh/Crabtree Hotel is central to all of Raleigh s best attractions, businesses, and restaurants! FREE WiFi, FREE GUEST LAUNDRY and FITNESS FACILITY, plus FREE Local Calls, this hotel has positioned itself as the perfect hotel for business and leisure travelers! Our fully equipped kitchens makes us ideal for the extended stay traveler relocating or in Raleigh on assignment needing temporary accommodations. HOSPITALS nearby: Rex Healthcare, WakeMed Hospital, & Duke/Raleigh Hospital, COLLEGES nearby: NC State University, Meredith College, Shaw University, Peace College, & Saint Augustine's. We are near so many LOCAL ATTRACTIONS: Crabtree Valley Mall, North Hills Shopping, all that Downtown Raleigh has to offer, the PNC Center, NC State Fair Grounds and Veterinary School, all Government facilities, and the TimeWarner Cable Music Pavilion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Candlewood Suites Raleigh - Crabtree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Raleigh - Crabtree Hotel Raleigh
Candlewood Raleigh
Raleigh Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Raleigh - Crabtree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.