We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic ....delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tuscan Blu

Tuscan Blu
327 W. Davie Street, Suite 108, Raleigh, NC 27601
+1 919-834-5707
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #242 of 1,129 Restaurants in Raleigh
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Mediterranean, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Harrington St
Transit: R Line stop #11 at the entrance of our patio. CAT Bus Stop #8840, Route 21 "Caraleigh" Carolina Hurricanes bus going to the RBC Stadium stops at entrance Across from the Amtrak Train Station.
Description: Maurizio Privilegi has opened an authentic Italian restaurant at "The Depot" building in downtown Raleigh, NC. The chef prepares dishes from all country sides of Tuscany with new feelings of creation. We use fresh organic products from local farms right here in Raleigh. We also import authentic Mediterranean products directly from Italy. We even grow our own fresh rosemary. gluten free pasta. Enjoy great food for affordable prices with a casual dining experience. The broad variety of items will keep you coming back time and time again to sample more. The menu also allows for large groups to come together, even with varying tastes. We also provide great vegetarian dishes. Located in an historic building with the train visible from the window and a cobble stone parking lot, Tuscan Blu serves you a unique experience for visitors of all nationalities.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Authentic ....delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Excellent Malbec, great wine list, you MUST dine here. Cozy atmosphere, wooden tables and chairs, and calamari superb! Get the pear and cream sauce dish or the steak entree. Skip the salmon. Tiramisu and after dinner coffee a perfect close to one of the best Italian meals you can find in downtown Raleigh. Staff friendly, chef made the rounds and place active enough for a Saturday evening but not too crowded. Five stars for authenticity and delicious cuisine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    12
    11
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Just looking for a convenient lunch place within walking distance of Cabarrus Street. Several places near Amtrak Station and decided to try this one. A bit concerned as there were no other customers but it was excellent!! Nice, varied menu. Had a fabulous Portobello stuffed with gorgonzola and covered in marinara and fresh, crisp salad. Bread was a bit dried out. Lunch companions liked their choices too. Attentive staff and everyone working there seemed to be Italian. My only complaint was Pepsi product served when Coke had been expected..

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

While on a stroll in downtown Raleigh, we saw Tuscan Blu and decided to dine there. We were not disappointed! The lasagne was the best I've ever had with just the right amount of meat and cheese. Our waitress was very nice and the owner stopped by to introduce himself. He was very kind and welcomed us. Overall, a great experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“LOVED it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We ate here for lunch on a whim. It was SO good! The drinks are on the expensive side. But, the food is cheaper than what you would get at Olive Garden, and such a higher quality that it makes up for it. We sat outside. It was just wonderful! The service was great. We will definately be going back!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good food, casual, yet nicer than average, atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Our first visit here was last night, arriving around 7:00. The restaurant is among a number of eateries and other shops in a restored Depot in the Warehouse District in Raleigh. We were seated promptly (it was a little cool to sit outside, but there are tables there overlooking the current train station, etc.), ordered a wine for me and a Tanguary & tonic for my husband. The cocktail was served in a manner more common in Europe (gin, ice and lime in the glass, bottle of tonic on the side)...the gin and tonic was $8.50 which is why, though we will definitely go to this restaurant again, we likely won't order cocktails. That said, fried calamari and marinara for dipping was good. My chicken and spinach in a pink sauce was EXCELLENT. Husband's shrimp fra divaolo was very good too. Warm rolls with olive oil for dipping were good. All in all, a really nice place for a casual pasta dinner (our pasta dishes were less than $20 each and very large) where you don't have to go to a strip mall (there is a LOT of good eating at strip malls in the Raleigh area, but sometimes, you want to feel like you went somewhere!). Heads up: NO PIZZA on the menu. But there are lots of pastas as well as beef and chicken dishes. Service is very friendly and did a fine job,

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuscan Blu also viewed

 

Been to Tuscan Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuscan Blu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.