We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog Friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3741 Thistledown Drive, Raleigh, NC 27606   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 80 hotels in Raleigh
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Dog Friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We chose to stay here because it is dog friendly. It is in a convenient location in Raleigh and very clean. The bed is comfortable and the service seems very nice and willing to help. The only negative is the noise level- we stayed on the first floor and could hear basically everything going on in the hall. Otherwise, there is nothing wrong with this place at all!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDUGS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
So glad we could accommodate you and your dog and thank you for your kind comments. Let me know when you plan to stay with us next time so I can make sure you are in a quieter part of our property. We hope that next stay will be soon :)

See you soon,

Milton Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    27
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
13
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

North Carolina is a great area. The kids are entertained, and there are many places to go for entertainment. It really depends where you go.
In general, it is a great place to explore. Plus there are tons of places you can explore (by walking distance) Your trip can also depend on who you bring, because some trips (people ammount) can affect what you do and how you enjoy your adventure.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDUGS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed our great state of North Carolina. There are certainly many things to do in this area. We hope you return soon so you can continue your exploration of our great state and the greater Raleigh area.

In hospitality,

Milton Hamilton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE, AZ
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here for work and found it conveniently located off the I40 with access to all of Raleigh from Gorman Road. The staff was remarkably pleasant with the exception of one desk clerk that wasn't there very often. Housekeeping was probably the best I have ever encountered with their room cleanliness. I saw them on their hands and knees cleaning the carpet in one room. My door had an issue and the engineer was there fixing it within 5 minutes. Breakfast was always prompt and the hot coffee, 24 hours a day, was just great.

Room Tip: I was on the 4th floor and it was still pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDUGS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We appreciate our guest feedback! Your voice is what matters. Thank you for taking the time to voice your great remarks. We look forward to being your hotel of choice when you are back in the Great Raleigh area.

All the best,
Milton Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Hotel was very clean. All staff was very friendly and professional. Breakfast was well organized and clean.
Would definitely stay here again.
Price with AAA discount made it within a reasonable range.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDUGS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We appreciate your business and this nice review. Hope to see you back sooner than later!

Cheers,
Milton Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My daughter is starting her first year at NCSU and we got the Parent Discount on this hotel, and we have always like HI Express hotels, so we thought we'd give it a try. We were looking for "our hotel" as our Raleigh NC "home away from home" when we visit our daughter. It did not disappoint in terms of being a typical HI Express. Comfy beds, good sized rooms, good sized bathrooms, and a decent breakfast, along with a friendly staff. One of my favorite things is that their bathroom has the sink vanity, toilet and tub/shower all in one room. Great for us early risers who don't want to wake everyone else up until we have to. We are returning for move-in weekend and hope to have the same great experience as last month. I have already scheduled ahead for Parent Weekend, and had to call to make a change, and I found Bill. Bill is now my long, lost friend at HI Express NCSU. I have fallen in love with Raleigh and the people, as we have visited there. Bill fell right in line with the friendliness that I have grown to love about Raleigh. He fixed my change and told me I could stop worrying about that problem and move on to my next one for the day because it was taken care of. This hotel is no more than a hop, skip, and a jump from NCSU, so very handy when driving back and forth over several days.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel is right against busy road, so you can hear people squeal away from the stop sign.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDUGS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We appreciate your recent stay and we are glad to be your “home away from home”! Bill is a stellar employee and he helps lead our staff by being an example of what excellent guest services means. Your comments will be shared with Bill and our entire staff so they can continue to be motivated to create great hotels that guests love.

Thank you,

Milton Hamilton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

They make it easy to enjoy your stay. The staff is super and the breakfast beats the typical continental breakfast fare. BACON, eggs, coffee. Oh, and they serve bacon. Besides that, the pool is nice and doesn't have that stuff that makes your eyeballs bleed. When we were there, the conference rooms were being used but the place was still calm, composed and quiet. Mints on the bed...yes, thank you!

Room Tip: Get a room with an odd number, 429, 311 because they are the rooms that face the undeveloped space t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDUGS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Those were great comments, thank you! Comments like that and guests like you make it a joy to come to work. Thank you for your patronage and we will be waiting to see you soon.

Pleasantly,
Milton Hamilton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I had a very good stay at this hotel. The workers were helpful and polite. It is a newer hotel, so the property is quite modern. There is ample free parking, the halls are spacious, and the rooms are large and clean. They paid attention to detail. I forgot my shower cap, and thankfully they had one in the bathroom for me--along with a vanity kit, makeup remover pads, and more. There were also two nice mints on the bed to welcome us.

The rooms have a microwave, fridge, laptop safe, and free internet. The breakfast had the best options among hotels I've visited in Raleigh. The cinnamon rolls are especially good and something I look forward to at Holiday Inns. With the exception of the refrigerator noises, the place was quiet.

I don't really have major complaints.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDUGS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We appreciate your stay and nice comments about our property. Our hotel is a little over 3 years old and we intend to keep the property in the same shape it was the first year open. We are in the business of creating a great guest experience; that’s why we place commonly forgotten items in your bathroom. We will see you back soon!

In hospitality,

Milton Hamilton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW

Address: 3741 Thistledown Drive, Raleigh, NC 27606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Raleigh
#19 Business Hotel in Raleigh
#22 Family Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel's property boasts an enjoyable country setting while being convenient to all the big city attractions and businesses. The Holiday Inn Express® Raleigh Southwest - NC State hotel is also proud to offer a 100% smoke-free facility and a location just off I-40 at exit 295. With quick access to such businesses as Siemens Training & Development Center, SAS and Cisco in the Raleigh area, our hotel offers corporate guests a quick commute to clients. We also make catching up with out-of-office work a breeze with complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access, available throughout the hotel, and a Business Center that allows you to print, copy and fax. One of the best things about staying with us is that we're just a few miles from NC State. The hotel's accommodations provide a perfect location for Wolfpack fans and for those attending a concert or athletic event at the RBC Center or the Time Warner Cable Pavilion. Other area attractions include Lake Johnson Park and the North Carolina Museum of Art. Additional hotel amenities, like our indoor, heated swimming pool, whirlpool and Fitness Center, make your stay more enjoyable. Be sure to fill up on sausage, bacon, eggs and our signature cinnamon rolls at the complimentary Express Start Breakfast while you watch one of the 52-inch cable TVs in the Great Room. We look forward to making our hotel your new home in Raleigh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites At Nc State Sw

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.