We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art & Outside Trails for miles” 4 of 5 stars
Review of North Carolina Museum of Art

North Carolina Museum of Art
2110 Blue Ridge Rd, Raleigh, NC 27607
919 839 6262
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 55 Attractions in Raleigh
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the leading art museums in the American South, the North Carolina Museum of Art (NCMA) recently completed a major, three-year expansion that places it in the front ranks of museums nationwide. The NCMA offers a permanent collection spanning more than 5,000 years, a variety of celebrated exhibitions and public programs, an amphitheater for outdoor performances, and the nation’s largest museum park—164 acres of trails and parkland containing major works of art.
Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Art & Outside Trails for miles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I am not sure what I would rather go to the Art museum for, the art or the miles of well maintained paved trails. They are great for running, biking, walking or just enjoying the sunshine. Pet friendly and miles of trails make for a great weekend along with the actual art museum which keeps a consistent headline that will sure to entertain you.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    474
    161
    21
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Visited with a program the city of Raleigh had for specialized programs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I will be back to do the bike trails! My cousin who is mentally disabled loved it ! I was there just to be with him and I couldn't wait to go back !

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful Artwork and Grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a great place for a day trip. We have brought visitors there several times and they really enjoyed it too. Try to pick a good day so you can spend some time outside too on the grounds.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

In recent years they redesigned the whole thing, it is very, very nice if you are into that kinda stuff.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful and interesting museum in central North Carolina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have lived here in Raleigh for 30 years. We have watched this museum grow and expand. It has always had a great collection of various types of art, types that attract school age children as well as adults. Something for everyone. Since they have expanded and added a whole new large, light and airy wing, they have also added an outdoor sculpture garden and an art trail to the extensive grounds. They have an outdoor and an indoor theater, and a nice place to eat. I highly recommend the permanent exhibits as well as the changing ones. some of the changing exhibits are free, and some have a nominal charge. If you go to a special exhibit that has an audio tour, take it. it adds so much to your experience. If you have , say an i phone like device, they can even get that audio tour on your device for free. The last special exhibit we went to was an unusual one for the museum, a Porsche exhibit which even I liked despite my general disinterest in cars. Janis Joplin's psychedelic one was on display, in the free area so everyone could see it. More typical was the past Monet exhibit which was spectacular. Give yourself enough time to appreciate what this large museum and the grounds have to offer. Go to their web site and see what they have to offer.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Carolina Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to North Carolina Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Carolina Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.