We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We could spend hours here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JC Raulston Arboretum at NC State University

JC Raulston Arboretum at NC State University
4415 Beryl Road, Raleigh, NC 27606
919-515-3132
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 55 Attractions in Raleigh
Type: Gardens, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of the North Carolina State University, this eight-acre garden contains a wide variety of cold hardy temperate zone plants.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“We could spend hours here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had our engagement photos taken here and fell in love with the gardens. Now we bring our children to visit the gardens and we find something new each time. Bring a picnic and sit out on the open lawns then explore all the nooks of the garden. Even being right next to NC State stadium the gardens are well protected and preserved but I would avoid the area if there is a game that day as the road leading into the garden tends to be very crowded and it can be hard to find a place to park.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    32
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Little oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I loved going and seeing all of the different plants they have at the arboretum.

It's beautiful in the spring and summer, when everything is in bloom. It's a really nice place to take a walk. I love any garden with banana trees.

They also have great annual trial area, where you can see lots of plant cultivars they are growing and testing for production later on.

It's a very cool place, especially if you're into gardening.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great to explore new plants, ideas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Love the different areas represented and it's always fun to see if they have the experimental plants in - and what they are when the do. The tours are free and very informational, too, and the classes and events held at the arboretum are terrific.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Several garden settings with unique plants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This arboretum has a wide array of garden settings with unique plants that really captivate. Some are so stunning you just stop in your tracks like a cascading cypress. I really enjoy Japanese gardens and Raulston's is a good one. I like discovering some new plants I haven't seen before or never thought to put different companion plants together. There are also lots of seating areas to just sit and relax and breathe it all in.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss this arboretum.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I love gardens and arboretums and the J.C. Raulston Arboretum met all my expectations. It's a lovely, relaxing place with a great selection of trees and interesting plants. A lot of the grounds have been redesigned and there is a new education center. Don't miss the rooftop garden and the dragon!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JC Raulston Arboretum at NC State University also viewed

 

Been to JC Raulston Arboretum at NC State University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JC Raulston Arboretum at NC State University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.