We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place to Spend a Sunny Afternoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JC Raulston Arboretum at NC State University

JC Raulston Arboretum at NC State University
4415 Beryl Road, Raleigh, NC 27606
919-515-3132
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 149 things to do in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of the North Carolina State University, this eight-acre garden contains a wide variety of cold hardy temperate zone plants.
Durham
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Lovely Place to Spend a Sunny Afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The JC Raulston Arboretum is a lovely collection of gardens quietly tucked away near the NC State Fairgrounds.

Find a parking place in their parking lot, or simply park in the designated street parking on Beryl Road. You can access Beryl from either Hillsborough Street or Blue Ridge Road.

I've visited in all seasons, and there is always some beauty to be found. Even in the dead of winter, some plants are putting on an impressive show. It's good to walk through the gardens from time to time just to see what there is to see, from Oriental gardens to decorative trees, light and shadow play among the array of plant life.

Be sure to bring your camera.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    35
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lillington, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“So very beautiful and something all the family can enjoy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Very beautiful place. My family took me there as a Mother's Day outing. When the destination was set, my two teenagers were a little less than excited but went along without complaints because it was my choice. Before long everyone was enjoying the day and I never heard a grumble, in fact they mentioned several times in the days following how amazing it was to see so many different plants from around the world nurtured in our wonderful NC climate.
This is not a trip to a greenhouse. These plants are all cultivated in beautiful surroundings. So many places for a picnic or just to sit and admire the scents and sounds of this lovely place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Something new on every visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Lose yourself in a timeless enchanted garden. The Raulston arboretum is always changing, always free, and always a wonderful regenerative place in which to explore and grow.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Collection extrodinaire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I participated in a seminar on rooting cutting. The presentation was expert and the opportunity to bring home exotic plants from the collection and plant them in my yard was most exciting. Well worth spending extra time in the Triangle to experience the plants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh,NC
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“see things that will grow in your garden or yard.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is a good test area for many species of trees, shrubs, and flowers. They try to simulate the real environment of NC, so they let nature determine if the plants succeed or fail.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JC Raulston Arboretum at NC State University also viewed

 

Been to JC Raulston Arboretum at NC State University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JC Raulston Arboretum at NC State University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.