We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to train” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Umstead State Park

Umstead State Park
8801 Glenwood Ave, Raleigh, NC 27617
919-571-4170
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 68 attractions in Raleigh
Type: State Parks, Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Running, Camping
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Sandwiched between downtown Raleigh and the airport, this oasis of green features a stand of 300+ year-old hardwood trees, more than 32 miles of hiking, biking and horseback riding trails, camp sites and lots more for nature lovers.
Pikeville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great place to train”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

A great training venue for marathons and ultra marathons. My husband uses Umstead to do his long runs when training for a marathon. You can get 13 miles on the perimeter of the park or infinite miles using the interior trails. Scenic and serene. Parking and restrooms are convenient.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    48
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cary, NC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great metro area natural park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Hiking trails, bike riding, small lakes are all draws to this Raleigh area park. Lots of parking and very easy to get to as it is just off of I-40(exit 287) and US 70. If you need to get out of the office, house, seminar, etc and just get some outdoor time, extended or a little, this is a nice place to go.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice trails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I only had an hour or so to hike but I really enjoyed my walk through the woods. I was traveling and had recyclables in my car and appreciated them have recycle containers in the parking lot.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We live nearby and visit Umstead frequently. It's a great place to hike, bike, fish and canoeing. The trails are nicely kept up. it also offers overnight camping and horseback riding trails. Best of all it is free. Nice hidden treasure.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful park for hiking, picnicking - beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is a great place to go to when you want to be surrounded by nature - I love getting out here on a warm Fall day to take it all in. There are great walking trails - various levels of difficulty and length but nothing that would count as strenuous hiking - and the surroundings are beautiful. Trees, streams, cliffs, etc. There are also great picnic spots available and restrooms, as well as plenty of parking. Umstead is very accessible from Raleigh, Cary and Durham - definitely worth checking out.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umstead State Park also viewed

 

Been to Umstead State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umstead State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Umstead State Park to your Saves list