We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very impressed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raleigh Marriott City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Raleigh Marriott City Center to your Saves list
Raleigh Marriott City Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Fayetteville Street, Raleigh, NC 27601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #27 of 84 Hotels in Raleigh
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had a large event (725+) and stayed the evening before. Everything was great. Beginning with the valets and reception, our experience was positive all around. And believe me, we really asked a lot of the staff when we had TWO carts full of supplies moving from place to place and needing to gain access to them many times once they were locked in the storage closet. Everyone was so friendly and accomodating.
The rooms were quite comfy too. Nice beds, plenty of room to spread out our belongings, good bathroom space (for two girls getting ready!), etc. I would stay there again for sure.
The location can't be beat. We were right next to the Convention and visitor centers. Tons of things to do/see/eat within walking distance. And having a Starbucks right there in the lobby was a nice "perk" too. :)

Room Tip: suites go fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C0N0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Wow! What a great review! Thank you so much for your contribution to TripAdvisor.

Guests forget that we host thousands of meetings per year. We would love to host any organization's meeting or event.

Regards,

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Morrisville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed here after a night out. The location is great for events at the convention center. Hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was very neat and clean. We really liked the stand-alone shower. We would surely stay here again for night out on the town, especially for shows at Lincoln Theatre.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NoleInNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks for your review! It should be noted that only 10% of our hotel rooms have the showers seperate from the bath tubs!

Best Regards,

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed at Marriott City Center for a conference and found it convenient to the Raleigh Convention Center, the parking deck and other areas downtown. The combination of escalators, stairs and elevators meant that getting in and out required very little waiting. I parked on level P3 getting to the lobby was a quick escalator ride away. Everyone I had to deal with was pleasant and offered a smiling face. Dinner at the bar was very good and the staff made it easy to substitute items. It has a very open feel to the lobby, bar and hallways while I like. I would have gave it an "excellent" except for the Internet cost which I feel should be included.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripper_David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your review!

I think we will see internet charges begin to fade from full service hotels in the near future. Unfortunately these type decisions are not made at the property or local level. Guests have come to expect complimentary service included in room rates and I agree with that expectation.

Thanks again for your review.

Regards,

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here for a single night following a corporate event held at the hotel. The hotel was clean, and the staff (especially the vallet) were exceptional. We only live a half hour away, but would certainly recommend this property to those visiting the area. There's dozens of night spots with walking distance.

Helpful?
Thank webdes03
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks for your great review!

Downtown Raleigh continues to become a great regional destination for couples and families to enjoy a quick getaway. There are great restaurants, museums and shows to experience. Our team is delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Best Regards,

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

The location is great - this Marriott sits in the nicest part of downtown Raleigh. The hotel lobby is very nice and the rooms are up to my highest standards of spaciousness, cleanliness, comfort and convenience (I really liked the LED reading lights built in to the head board). All staff members I encountered were just great. Self parking is slightly inconvenient, as there is no direct elevator acces from the parking garage (there are escalators to whisk you up to the lobby), but, in all fairness, it is a public deck - I'm just nitpicking. Best hotel choice in Raleigh!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dvdjcnrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. The entire team appreciates your comments and everyone who takes the time to post on TA. Your contributions help shape our hotel's service offerings. Readers and contributors shoud know that we read your reviews and take your comments seriously.

Thanks again.

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
127 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Everything about the hotel facilities themselves is pretty typical for a Marriott. You know what to expect. The room itself is comfortable. In this case, the bathroom is pretty small. You can't access the shower/tub without closing the door. But otherwise the room itself is clean and comfortable.

The parking is easy to deal with as well. If you do not want to spend $22+tip for the valet, the garage across the street (shared with Sheraton & convention center) is free on the weekends. If you are staying during the week, might as well use the valet for the in/out privileges.

The restaurant is decent, priced as to be expected for Marriott and has a typical wine list. The bar itself is slightly more expensive than you would expect - about $12/drink instead of the typical 8-10 (for Raleigh). The restaurants menu is limited, but should offer something for everyone.

The location is excellent. It is within walking distance to most downtown business, obviously across the street from the convention center, but is also the closest hotel to the Progress Energy Center. We stay here when we want to make a full night after seeing a symphony performance.

This particular stay was okay. I sent a message with the reservation stating that it was a special occasion to make the staff aware that I at least preferred a kind room, but any extras or offerings (even at cost) would have been nice. However when we checked in, the staff non-apologetically notified me that I was in a two bed room as the King rooms were all sold out. I can understand that. But my expectations are to either be upgraded, apologized to or comped in some way. The check-in agent was actually somewhat rude about it, perhaps scoffing at the special rate that I paid, even after showing military id?

We took it in stride and made the best of the stay, but after staying at another Marriott property for our last special occasion and receiving excellent treatment, I guess I expected more.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank telamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks for your review. Please accept my apology for not having a King bedded room for your stay. The hotel is divided essentially 50/50 in bed types with King and / two Queen size bedded rooms. Unfortunately the reservation should have told you about this lack of availability. This hotel is unusual that it has only seven suites <2% of our rooms. This makes it difficult to upgrade our return guests.

Again, please accept my apology. We certainly appreciate your loyalty and your post on TripAdvisor.

Best Regards,

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I found the Raleigh Marriot City Center hotel very clean and comfortable. The room had a comfortable bed, coffee maker, and clean bathroom. The TV was ok - it had the basic channels, nothing fancy. Breakfast was a buffet with just about everything including omlets made on the spot- but it did cost about $15. All in all, this a very nice hotel and worth staying at again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Mike,

Thanks for your great review of the Raleigh Marriott City Center. We have many goals relative to our opertaion. None are more significant than guest satisfaction. The consistency of our hotel and the Marriott brand keep our guests coming back. We are thrilled to have met your expectation and hope that you will be returning soon.

Regards,

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
#42 of 84 in Raleigh
3.5 of 5 stars 491 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
1.6 mi away
Aloft Raleigh
Aloft Raleigh
#38 of 84 in Raleigh
4.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
4.3 mi away
Renaissance Raleigh North Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raleigh Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raleigh Marriott City Center

Address: 500 Fayetteville Street, Raleigh, NC 27601
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Raleigh
#24 Business Hotel in Raleigh
#27 Family Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Raleigh Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Raleigh Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raleigh Marriott City Hotel Raleigh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing