We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent clean hotel in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Raleigh North Hills

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Raleigh North Hills to your Saves list
Renaissance Raleigh North Hills
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4100 Main at North Hills Street, Raleigh, NC 27609   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ankeny, Iowa
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent clean hotel in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 2 times for business and loved it. Very good location with tons of restaurants and shopping. Staff very nice and sincere. Rooms clean and up to date. Would like free wifi for Marriott rewards members but it seems the more expensive places don't have free wifi. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Raleigh North Hills, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Michael P,
Thanks so much for sharing part of your Renaissance Experience. Unique to the area, North Hills provides an excellent location to do business, and not forget that there is more to life than just working. As I’m sure you noticed, many new restaurants, shops, and activities are soon to be added to the North Hills experience, making each Renaissance visit yet another opportunity to discover something entirely new.

Thanks again, and we look forward to you return.

Richard Rose, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    99
    14
    7
    7
See reviews for
87
101
15
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This property is perfectly located right off of the interstate, but within a "new urbanist" type community. Though autos are accommodated in underground parking, the surface gives priority to pedestrian access. From the hotel you can easily fulfill any need by walking to large retailers like Target, or outstanding sushi at Mura. The residential component to the community ensures 'round the clock activity and security. You're not isolated here. If you don't feel like venturing out, order room service. SEAN went above and beyond, not only exceeding expectations but meeting numerous requests with humor and a smile. Too bad I didn't get the desk clerk's name - she set the tone with her sincerely welcoming attitude and genuine conversation. Although I was paying with FF miles, my room request & preferences were granted. The room was sizable, comfortable, meticulous and fresh. Although this place is a little more than I normally would pay, it's a good value for me via AAA or combination miles & money. Bottom line, it's worth it to me to make this my regular place when I'm in Raleigh, which is every month or two.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Raleigh North Hills, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
MLeopards

URBANIST !!! Many thanks for providing me with my word of December. True to form, North Hills represents, and continues to develop, in to thee location in Raleigh. Food, Shopping, and an endless menu of activities is what makes Midtown so unique. Even better, is the pleasure and confidence that our folks have in adding to your North Hills experience, and engaging your particular experience and making it the very best it can be.

We look forward to your return, and introducing you to all that is new in the “new urbanist."

Sincerely, Richard Rose, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed the weekend this September as we were attending a wedding. We found the hotel to meet our expectations of a Renaissance. The Hotel was nicely decorated and immaculate. The rooms were clean with quite comfortable beds. The staff was always available to meet our every needs. The location was excellent with a mall and shopping right outside the front doors. We enjoyed the various restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Raleigh North Hills, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Greetings pez-oz33,

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your visit to Our Renaissance and the North Hills area. Service and convenience are two of the fantastic benefits of being in Midtown, and I am thrilled to hear that you had the chance to appreciate both. We hope your experience is enough to bring you back for no reason at all, and thanks again for sharing.

Richard Rose, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

North Hills is an area within Raleigh that is really hopping right now - there is enormous growth in terms of new shops & restaurants there, and there's also great stuff like a farmer's market from May to October on Saturday mornings. Thus, the Renaissance is our favorite place to stay when we need it. The rooms are nice and we've gotten some very good prices there (though it's certainly variable), and we've had very good experiences with the staff, too. There's also a good restaurant (Mia Francesca) attached to the hotel. When you couple all of that with the ability to walk outside to VERY good shopping and restaurants (Mura, Coquette, Vivace, Pharoah's are good spots to eat), this wins hands-down as compared to other midtown Raleigh options.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Raleigh North Hills, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Leighcecilia,

All that you have mentioned, and much more coming in the new year, is exactly why so many folks have taken to Midtown, and we have been thrilled to be a part of bringing unique and memorable experiences to so many visitors, and folks from around the corner. Thanks so much for taking the time to share your Renaissance experience, and I hope you will return soon.

Richard Rose, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for just 2 nights while on business in the Raleigh area. A lovely property! It is located very close to shopping and other amenities and has a convenient parking area as well as valet parking. I wish that I was able to utilize more of the hotel but unfortunately I was so busy with work I only was at the hotel for a few hours each night. The rooms were clean, spacious and had a great quantity of towels. There was enough space to work in as well as relax. In addition, the bathroom had a TV built into the bathroom mirror which I thought was a nice touch! (I didn't actually use it but did turn it on to check it out). I ordered room service one evening and had a light meal of chicken sandwich and salad, which was delivered promptly. The concierge loge had the normal items available (I used it only for breakfast) such as eggs, fruit, juice, cereal, coffee, etc. All in all it was a lovely hotel and I honestly wished that I spent less time locked in a conference room at the office and more time at the hotel! Would for sure stay here again when in the Raleigh area. Also, it was approximately 20 minutes from RDU airport, very convenient.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Raleigh North Hills, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Many thanks Gingerbug2013,

It appears you have all the right reasons to come back and not work. #1 Brand Rated Cleanliness and Comfort aside, there is so much to compliment those features throughout the building, and straight out the front door. Ever growing in selection and options, Midtown is quick becoming thee location in Raleigh. We hope to see you on property again in the near future, and hope you will bring with you little more than the desire to Discover something entirely new.

Richard Rose, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa (Mesa County), Colorado
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our room met our top priorities: very clean with good beds. The room had a refrigerator, and numerous outlets for electronics, decent WiFi. We did have some issues:
1) No towel bars, hooks or make-up mirror in the bath. Bath had a sliding door which didn't shut well. It would have been more functional to use a hinged door on the bath, and a sliding door on the closet. Several broken pant hangers.
2) Our room was next to a very loud couple. The woman had a cackling laugh that penetrated the walls, and the door slammed several times for ice refills. Calls to the front desk went unheeded from 11:20 pm to 1:15 am--not sure staff even contacted the people because we never heard their phone ring, or anyone at their door. Although hotels can't be responsible for a guest's rudeness, we were disappointed that staff didn't at least tell them they were disturbing others--our drinking neighbors may have been completely unaware of their loudness.

The next day we spoke with Jeanne T. at reception. She listened at length to our issues, was kind, friendly and concerned. We left feeling much better about our stay. The friendly, helpful parking valet had given easy directions to the underground free self-park garage and the concierge staff was friendly and hardworking, too. If not for the indifferent night staff, I would rate service a 5 (excellent). Upon our return home, I received an email from Jeanne stating that our rate had been adjusted--good customer service!

The location in North Hills is excellent: an easy walk to numerous restaurants and boutiques. It is a quick 15 minute drive to downtown Raleigh (weekend), and there is good freeway access to Durham and Chapel Hill. Despite our noise issue, I would recommend the Renaissance North Hills and would stay again.

We had a delicious dinner at Second Empire downtown, and heard other guests mentioning special celebrations that evening--it must be fairly well-regarded by the locals.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Raleigh North Hills, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Four Winds,

I greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts, both on your stay in the room, but also with the surrounding elements as well. I am very sorry to hear of “the neighbor”, and it is unfortunate that we did not have the opportunity to intervene more proactively. The mechanics of the room, and some of your points regarding the amenities have been addressed and will certainly be a point of focus for our Stylists.

More than anything, however, I am thrilled to hear that the human element, the folks that have elevated us to #1 in the Brand, were empowered and engaged , and made recovery to some degree. I hope we have the opportunity to have you back on property, and thanks again for sharing your Renaissance Experience.

Richard Rose, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel in the center of a very nice large outdoor mall. Previously when in Raleigh I have stayed at the major named hotels downtown. They are OK, but nothing to do downtown. The Renaissance is a nice hotel will very nice employees. You will like their taxi cabs, they have a company that drives Mercedes instead of ugly yellow cabs.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Front Desk Supervisor at Renaissance Raleigh North Hills, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
RKBII,
Thank you for reflecting on your experience with us. With a passionate approach to service, our Ambassadors strive for the ultimate guest experience. We are thrilled you experienced this first hand. Hope to see you soon, and many thanks for sharing.

John M. Murdock, Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Raleigh North Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Raleigh North Hills

Address: 4100 Main at North Hills Street, Raleigh, NC 27609
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Raleigh
#5 Family Hotel in Raleigh
#8 Romantic Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Raleigh North Hills 3.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Raleigh North Hills hotel enhances every aspect of your stay with refreshing experiences and inspiring environments with a distinctive feel. An ideally situated North Hills Marriott hotel, Renaissance Raleigh North Hills hotel is just steps from endless shopping, dining and exciting entertainment. Renaissance Raleigh Hotel North Hills offers a place where simple delights become memorable moments. Where distinctive style flirts with touches of whimsy. And where unparalleled service and uncommon sophistication always provide a unique experience. With over 8,000 square feet of upscale event space, Renaissance Raleigh North Hills hotel is perfect for Raleigh Weddings, Raleigh Business Meetings and Events or Raleigh Receptions. Our expert event planners provide the unsurpassed service and distinctive style that you deserve. Renaissance Raleigh Hotel North Hills is Raleigh's premier luxury destination for business, leisure, and everything in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Raleigh North Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Raleigh North Hills Hotel Raleigh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Raleigh North Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.