We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pit - smoky flavor was the prefect touch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pit

The Pit
328 West Davie Street, Raleigh, NC 27601
(919) 890-4500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Pit is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 1,234 Restaurants in Raleigh
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Dawson Street
Transit: The R-line stops right in front of the restaurant!
Smithfield, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The Pit - smoky flavor was the prefect touch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I always joke that the City of Raleigh had to find someone from Wilson to cook good BBQ! Although Pitmaster Ed Mitchell is no longer there, the quality and flavor hasn't. Went with the combo Brisket and Chopped BBQ. The smoky flavor was the prefect touch. Lite vinegar based sauce, but not dripping with grease! The perfect mixture! Had the creamed corn and mac'n cheese for the side.. both were outstanding. Ordered the fried green tomatoes as an appetizer ... not bad, but nothing that would make you go "WOW" and would skip it next time. Wife had the chopped BBQ turkey. Fried okra was a little too salty for her taste. Thumbs up again with the creamed corn.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    499
    332
    136
    47
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“If BBQ is your thing this is your place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

First time Id been there was last evening so many things to choose from we opt for the family style table meal 19 a person unlimited appetizers entrees and desserts! Wow did we bring some leftovers home everything the meat cooked wonderfully the pumpkin bread w maple butter oh yum!!! A definite place to stop for fantastic food and will leave you waddling out the door!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Meat Falls Off the Bone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband kept saying North Carolina is known for its ribs so we needed to find a restaurant that has ribs. Just so happened I picked up a Raleigh magazine and there was a section about restaurants. There was The Pit and how it was on the Travel Channel, the Food Channel and Zagat. It was close to where we already were so PERFECT we just headed that way. Parking in that area is a bugger but The Pit has complimentary valet parking ... again, perfect. We really lucked out cause we beat the after-work crowd ... we got seated right away. I explained to the waitress that we wanted ribs and wanted her recommendation. She said the Carolina Ribs were challenged against the ribs Bobby Flay cooked and the Carolina Ribs won. Of course we had to try that. But before we ordered, my husband saw the "family style" offering ... two appetizers, two entrees with one side and one dessert ($19.99 each person). You eat what you order and if you want more, they will bring you more. So it's all you can eat.

Appetizers ... BBQ Soul Roll and Fried Green Tomatoes. The BBQ Soul Roll is like a Chinese vegetable roll, only this one has pork and veggies. It is really delicious and the sauce is just an added deliciousness. Eversince I saw the movie "Fried Green Tomatoes", I've had fried green tomatoes maybe three times (not too enthused about fried stuff anymore) ... this was good.

Entrees ... Carolina Ribs and Chopped BBQ Pork. The Carolina Ribs were so good ... the meat fell off the bone. The taste was so yummy ... finger licking good. The Chopped BBQ Pork reminded me of Hawaii's Kalua Pig. It was good but I was never much of a Kalua Pork person. It's the sauce that made the difference. Again, yummy.

Dessert ... Double Layered Chocolate Cake. Yikes! It was huge. I'm not a dessert or chocolate eater but my husband said it was delicious. He couldn't eat it all.

My husband ordered another Carolina Rib. He only wanted one more rib but they brought him more than just one. He couldn't eat it all. Now I wish I had the ribs. We only could eat the initial stuff and that one additional rib. Okay, maybe we're "wooses" but at least we can say we ate the best ribs in North Carolina.

When we were leaving, there were a lot of people waiting. We smiled contently as we waddled out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good BBQ, Nice Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My friends and I had finished the Raleigh 70.3 triathlon earlier in the day and needed to refuel ourselves. Protein is always a necessary ingredient so we thought The Pit would be a good choice to fill up.

My wife and I arrived before our friends did on a Sunday afternoon. Even though the restaurant wasn't busy we were told we wouldn't be seated until our entire party arrived -- always an annoyance, especially when there are plenty of open tables. However we sat in the bar and had a nice microbrew while we waited. The bar waitress was very attentive and quick to serve us.

Our friends arrived about five minutes later so we moved to the dining area. (So we had to settle up at the bar, instead of just settling it all at once if we had been seated initially -- again, just a minor annoyance.)

Once seated our wait staff took care of us. They have a three-waiter system so we never went more than a few minutes without someone checking in on us.

Our friends ordered the bacon bruschetta for an appetizer while we ordered the pumpkin cornbread. Both were excellent.

Most if not all of us ordered the beef brisket platter. As I said, we needed protein after our event. I got the mac-and-cheese and baked beans for my sides. The mac was good, the beans were ok (I was expecting BBQ beans, these were not). The brisket with BBQ sauce was quite good and a very large helping. There were four large strips of brisket on my plate, I only ate one and took the rest home, making another meal or two out of it.

I wouldn't call this a destination restaurant for me, one I would plan to make a night of. But if my friends said, "Hey let's meet at The Pit" I'd be ok with that.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pikeville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A must try when in the area!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We were in town for the weekend and the lady at the hotel told us about this place and we sure are glad she did! Me and the wife are their new biggest fans because not only was the food amazing but everything about this place was from the service of 3 waiters down to just the smell of the place when u walk in let's u know that u have arrived somewhere different. I had the meatloaf and my wife had the pulled pork with great sides and the best hush puppies my wife said she has ever had and I will have to agree. Sure am glad the lady pointed is in the direction of this place and we will be back next time in town no doubt!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pit also viewed

 

Been to The Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.