We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we had hoped” 3 of 5 stars
Review of North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences

North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences
11 W Jones St, Raleigh, NC 27601
+1 919-707-9800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 55 Attractions in Raleigh
Type: Natural History Museums, Science Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Southeast's largest natural history museum features dinosaurs, whale skeletons, live animals, walk-through dioramas, special exhibits, hands-on science education and accessible scientists. IMLS National Medal Finalist, 2014.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not what we had hoped”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our first visit to the NC Museum of Natural Sciences and we took our summer guests (adults and children). We chose to go on a Monday in hopes of avoiding a crowd but didn't realize that meant that so much of the area was either closed (Living Conservatory) or unattended (science labs). The one science lab that was available 'shooed' our party out in under 10 minutes...and not because there was a crowd or others waiting. Dinosaurs in Motion was artistic and but almost the only 'interactive' (minimally) thing in the museum, and hardly worth the price. Many of the exhibits seemed old or tired, and those that should have sparked imagination or questions had no one around or even interested in helping. The most energetic person we met was the restaurant manager in the 'research' building. After driving 2 hours each way, our out of state guests were unimpressed, and we were a little embarrassed; maybe Mondays should not be open to the public at all. And perhaps 'free' isn't the best idea. We are more than happy to pay for quality...and did so when visiting better museums before and after this visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emelia C, Manager at North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We’re sorry that your experience was less than you had hoped, and we very much want to take steps to correct any problems. If you can either provide me contact information or email me directly Emelia.cowans@naturalsciences.org, I would like to hear more about your experience.

It may be helpful for you to know that our Investigate Labs are open during peak hours and are scheduled so that we have sufficient staff to operate them. We also have scheduled classes that may prohibit walk-in visitors during those times. We would like to figure out a way to get you back for a positive experience.

Sincerely,
Emelia Cowans, Assistant Communications Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    152
    19
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to learn and enjoy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

It had some different labs with scientists who are willing to give a short class. It was very clean inside and had an interesting looking
interior. It would be fun place to go on a field trip especially for elementary kids.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great museum - avoid Dinosaurs in Motion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a great museum where you can enjoy most attractions at no charge. However, avoid the special Dinosaurs in Motion exhibit. They charged us full price for admittance ($10 per adult, $6 per child) without explaining that a significant portion of the displays were out of order- including the main T-Rex display. Even if all displays had been working, this whole exhibit just wasn't executed very well. Plenty of other sights to enjoy here without wasting time and money and walking out of the exhibit with disappointed kids.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emelia C, Manager at North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We are sorry that your experience at Dinosaurs In Motion was less than you had hoped, and we very much want to take steps to correct any problems. If you can either provide me contact information or email me directly Emelia.Cowans@naturalsciences.org, I would like to hear more about your experience.

We are the first Museum where DIM has appeared, and both we and the promoters are learning that there are maintenance demands that we didn’t anticipate. We apologize for that, and our staff is working hard every day to keep the exhibit up and running and roaring.

Sincerely,
Emelia Cowans
Assistant Communications Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batesville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“AHHH-MAZE-ING!!!!! NOT TO BE MISSED!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Could not believe this wonderful museum is FREE!!!! As a travel nurse, I'm always exploring interesting sites in a new community, and I especially enjoy freebies. Raleigh is lucky to be home to several free museums, including this AWESOME museum of natural science! 4 floors of excellent exhibits, displays, live animals, great gift shop, cafes, and the opportunity to pay a small fee for a 3-D movie and traveling exhibits. I've spent 2 different days wandering and have seen something new each time.

The Natural Research Center that is attached to the museum via a skybridge is phenomenal and should not be missed!! The hands-on laboratories are one of the most fun learning experiences I've ever encountered for children of all ages. As a former educator, I was blown away by all the Museum of Natural Science and the Nature Research Center had to offer. I will be visiting again very soon!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“It's awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have visited this museum several times in the past. There are 4 floors of bright colorful interesting real-life exhibits. Natural settings are duplicated with the animals native to that habitat. You have the NC coast, piedmont, mountains and bug world. You also have an international theme. It's also right across from the State Capital and the History museum. I highly recommend the visit. It's awesome!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences also viewed

 

Been to North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.