We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of everything for everyone.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences

North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences
11 W Jones St, Raleigh, NC 27601
+1 919-707-9800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 55 Attractions in Raleigh
Type: Natural History Museums, Science Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Southeast's largest natural history museum features dinosaurs, whale skeletons, live animals, walk-through dioramas, special exhibits, hands-on science education and accessible scientists. IMLS National Medal Finalist, 2014.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
84 attraction reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“A little bit of everything for everyone.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Part of a nice walkable state capital area.
Many museum of this type in many town not big enough to have separate museums for various subjects. What's different about this one is that it adds real scientific research and interactivity into the mix. It's a better of this type of museum. Really cool (and free) place to visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    152
    19
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maitland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing museum FOR FREE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is a fantastic natural science museum - I went with my mother-in-law, husband and 4-year-old brother-in-law (ha!) and we were all very impressed. I can't believe it's free, there are very cool specimens on exhibit (the sea and dinosaur exhibits are especially impressive) and it's a large, interactive museum. Definitely a great way to spend several hours on a hot day. Highly recommended! Can't wait to go back and explore more and check out the 3-D theater.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Free and full of amazing information. We loved it. The displays were incredible, I especially loved the time period between the 40-50's. You won't be disappointed in this visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“borng”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

this is the kind of place that they dont do diffrernt every time you go because it never changes i went with cousins and i was drending takeing them ther because once is ebough twice or more it gets boring

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Leave Time to See the Nature Research Center!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Museum of Natural Sciences opened a new wing back in April 2012, and this was my first chance to see it.

In the older part of the museum, you can learn about North Carolina's climate, flora and fauna, but the exhibits are a bit older and some of them seem a bit tired. If you want to show your children (or learn for yourself) about current science, definitely visit the Nature Research Center. Here, the exhibits showcase research being done at area universities and institutes. There are plenty of interactive parts for people of all ages. In some of the labs, you can go in and do little hands-on experiments. Others use computer visualizations. For example, in one visualization, you experiment with measures to address climate change and see which actions have the biggest impact on reducing carbon emissions. In another, you can practice predicting the weather, using a simulation and information about meteorology.

This wing makes this the best science museum I've been to--so much more up-to-date and interactive than others I've visited. If you want to see scientists in action, a weekday would be best. We visited on a Sunday and many of the research labs were closed. I'd definitely go back another day to observe!

As others have pointed out, the best part is that this museum is completely free, with free parking right next door.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences also viewed

 

Been to North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.