We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic! Love everything about it. the shopping, with its variety, knocked me out!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Market

City Market
Raleigh, NC 27601
919 821 8023
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 68 attractions in Raleigh
Type: Historic Walking Areas, Neighborhoods
Activities: Shopping, Nightlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Recognized by the National Register of Historic Places, this is a trendy shopping and restaurant district located in Raleigh's historic section.
Greenville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic! Love everything about it. the shopping, with its variety, knocked me out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I'm a Foodie and it (City Mkt) had things not easily found in NC. The variety of fruits and vegetables were amazing and the food? Try the fried Chicken, seasonal veggies, Sweet tea and banana pudding!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    3
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Lots of nice shops and eateries!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

It was cold and rainy but my dog and I walked around anyway. Very cute quaint shops and Restaurants wish it was warmer! Most the eateries had closed after lunch, they had outdoor tables for people with pets but it was too cold to sit outside.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“First Friday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

First Fridays feature live outdoor music and several beer/wine options to enjoy on the square.

All month long:
Vic's Italian features great fresh Italian food.
Woody's offers an amazing beer list and an array of appetizers/bar food.
Zydeco has killer New Orleans grub.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Decent atmosphere, live music, and food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Walking around City Market is fun, but it's still lacking. They have live music on most nights, but the restaurants are pretty pricey for what you get. I wish downtown had more things to do, but I don't know if the city will ever get there.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fun visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We always like to take a weekend trip to the City Market where we can shop, eat and buy great NC pproduce.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Market also viewed

 

Been to City Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added City Market to your Saves list