We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1707 Hillsborough Street, Raleigh, NC 27605   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #22 of 80 hotels in Raleigh
New Bern, North Carolina, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I was very impressed with the friendliness and professionalism of the staff while checking in. Loved the warm chocolate chip cookie. The room was clean and inviting. It was spacious and had little "touches" that made me feel welcomed. I thoroughly enjoyed my dining experience in the restaurant. I could not have asked for better service and the food was delicious. I will definitely stay at the Doubletree Brownstone again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    200
    108
    62
    26
    13
See reviews for
93
50
16
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Holly Springs, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Attentive and helpful staff topped off with an updated and very comfortable room. The Brownstone is close to dining and shopping with accessibility to the surrounding areas. We would recommend for any type of stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here during the holidays and found it to be a perfect location with updated rooms. Close to downtown and to the NC State Campus. Will return. Book in advance and get the best prices. Problem- no pool, jacuzzi, and lousy exercise room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I had a nice experience here. We had a leaky toilet in our new room and they moved us right away. The accomodations were clean and the staff was pleasant. Don't forget to ask for your warm chocolate chip cookies!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, USA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My friends and I went for a weekend getaway. This place has a good location, close to NC State, and close to downtown. They give you warm cookies (always a plus). They do offer room service which the food was actually good. They have free wifi, and the beds are tempur-pedic, which didn't agree with me but overall a good value especially for the location.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I just visited Raleigh for one night in order to attend a N.C. State basketball game the next afternoon. I have only stayed in one other hotel closer to the PNC Arena, so it was a little difficult to pick something unknown. The Brownstone had good reviews in here, so I opted to stay for one night. The hotel is in a great location, less than a mile from the N.C. State campus on Hillsborough. On the other side of the hotel, it is only about a mile or two to downtown Raleigh. What a great location! The interior lobby is nicely updated. The entire hotel was very clean, and we had a room up on the 7th floor with a view of downtown. Interestingly enough, the rooms have actual balconies with sliding glass doors. The room was very large, and the bed was comfortable. No problems with the heating system, either. The bathroom was clean, with slightly dated decor. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the upper floors, with view of downtown Raleigh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Falls, North Carolina, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My stay at the Double Tree Brownstone was first rate from beginning to end. The staff was excellent starting with our request for early check-in, so we could make it to an early concert. The room was clean with comfy beds. The bathroom was immaculate and I loved having a private balcony with an excellent view of the Raleigh skyline. We even had a full moon! The food and drinks at the bar were excellent and timely, and we were made to feel like our business was appreciated. I also was able to access the free wi-fi without a problem, and the slippers and bathrobe were a nice touch. Halfway home I realized that I had forgotten a checkbook and wallet full of credit cards in the room. I called them, and they retrieved them for me. I asked them to mail them to me, and they arrived the next day fully intact. That could have been a disaster! I can't say enough about the helpfulness and graciousness of all the staff. This is the only place I will stay when in Raleigh.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University

Address: 1707 Hillsborough Street, Raleigh, NC 27605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Raleigh
#20 Business Hotel in Raleigh
#21 Romantic Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly remodeled Doubletree by Hilton Raleigh - Brownstone University. Whether you are visiting for business at North Carolina State University (2 blocks), the Research Triangle Park(8 miles), the new Raleigh Convention Center and Downtown Business District(1.5 miles), or you're here for a leisurely stay to attend an event at the RBC Center, Time Warner Pavilion at Walnut Creek, Progress Energy Center for the Performing Arts, State Fairgrounds, or a visit to one of our three museums in downtown Raleigh (Art, Science, History), we can offer you the best balance of location, convenience, and value. With features like a new, modern spacious lobby, brand new guestrooms for 2012, a new restaurant and bar and all new fitness center by Precor along with an expanded business center,we have everything you need to insure a pleasant and productive stay. Best of all, you can walk to more than 20 different restaurants and nearly 100 shops at Cameron Village(a historic, upscale, outdoor walking mall), ride the train, paddleboats or play on the playground at the all new Pullen Park or take advantage of all the businesses and restaurants on Hillsborough Street across from NC State University's campus-each of these is less than .5 miles from the hotel. Come see why Raleigh was again listed as 'One of the best cities to live and work in' by Forbes Magazine in 2012 and why the all new Doubletree by Hilton Raleigh Brownstone University is the best place to stay to be in the center of it all; and please don't forget that parking and internet are always free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Raleigh Brownstone - University Hotel Raleigh
Holiday Inn Brownstone
Holiday Inn Raleigh
Raleigh Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.