We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have been happier” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1707 Hillsborough Street, Raleigh, NC 27605   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #22 of 80 hotels in Raleigh
Granite Falls, North Carolina, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Could not have been happier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My stay at the Double Tree Brownstone was first rate from beginning to end. The staff was excellent starting with our request for early check-in, so we could make it to an early concert. The room was clean with comfy beds. The bathroom was immaculate and I loved having a private balcony with an excellent view of the Raleigh skyline. We even had a full moon! The food and drinks at the bar were excellent and timely, and we were made to feel like our business was appreciated. I also was able to access the free wi-fi without a problem, and the slippers and bathrobe were a nice touch. Halfway home I realized that I had forgotten a checkbook and wallet full of credit cards in the room. I called them, and they retrieved them for me. I asked them to mail them to me, and they arrived the next day fully intact. That could have been a disaster! I can't say enough about the helpfulness and graciousness of all the staff. This is the only place I will stay when in Raleigh.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    123
    68
    26
    13
See reviews for
109
54
18
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
norfolk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Hotel on the outside looks a little off to start with then you get to the rooms and its not much better its like a comfort inn that they jazzed up with some new furniture. Also this is the first hotel i have ever stayed in where i had no control over the temperature of my room....will no stay here again

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I am a Diamond Hilton Honors member and am a big fan of the Hilton brand, but this place didn't do much for me. I thought it was particularly overpriced.Some of my business associates did not have hot water in the morning and the staff did not seem to be too concerned. However, the breakfast was pretty good.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Visited for work and right away what stood out was the accommodations made to ensure my stay was pleasant. I did have issues with my room (handle to bathtub fell off while running the water, but they sent the maintenance person right away to fix it and didn't have any other issues during the visit.), but overall the stay was pleasant. Jamie brought me a fridge and showed superior customer service with a smile that I really appreciated because I don't tend to see too much of the "going the extra mile" nowadays. The yummy gooey cookies were fantastic. The bedding was comfy and clean. Not the best views, but I could see downtown from my window. The workout room, though small was more than adequate. Great visit. Definitely would stay again. Only downside was finding food, because the onsite restuarant was hardly ever open.

Room Tip: Noodle restuarant across street is excellent. Up the street is an outdoor mall...pricey, but Chickf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I was there with a group of 20 people for 4 days and despite being sold out, the staff at the Doubletree Brownstone was always as helpful as they could be.

The rooms were clean, any requests we had were always promptly taken care of. We even used their catering service and it could be nothing but our best choice. The price and quality of the food were great.

The location is also first class - 15 minutes from the airport, has all the things you may need in the surrounding area. It is definitely a place to stay while in Raleigh.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Have been coming to Raleigh for near to 20 years. The Brownstone has always been the hotel of choice, driven by location to NCSU...if you want walking distance to NCSU and the restaurants of Hillsborough St there is no better place to stay. But that has been why you stayed at the Brownstone -- not because it was a great place, but it was an okay to poor place in the perfect location. This past year they became a Double Tree and the service has improved 100%. It is still a "dated" property as others have complained about HVAC systems...but the rooms have been redone to DoubleTree standards, the front desk was professional/helpful and of course had the great cookies. The breakfast buffet was very good with good service staff. Even the maid service was improved.

I am a Marriott platinum and no this isn't a full service Marriott with a Conceirge Lounge, etc. But for a downtown hotel it is a perfect choice not only for location but for reasonable service and price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The layout of the rooms, location of the hotel, parking, etc. made this a model for what renting a room for the night should be. This may have been one of my top 5 hotel experiences. I wouldn't have expected this in any college town. The rooms appeared to have been recently redone and the layout was conducive for work and meeting - plenty of layout room and the bedroom was segregated into its own space . Water was steaming hot, rooms were quiet and super clean, parking was ample and one could find a parking spot within view of their room. I'll go back there in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University

Address: 1707 Hillsborough Street, Raleigh, NC 27605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Raleigh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Raleigh
#23 Business Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly remodeled Doubletree by Hilton Raleigh - Brownstone University. Whether you are visiting for business at North Carolina State University (2 blocks), the Research Triangle Park(8 miles), the new Raleigh Convention Center and Downtown Business District(1.5 miles), or you're here for a leisurely stay to attend an event at the RBC Center, Time Warner Pavilion at Walnut Creek, Progress Energy Center for the Performing Arts, State Fairgrounds, or a visit to one of our three museums in downtown Raleigh (Art, Science, History), we can offer you the best balance of location, convenience, and value. With features like a new, modern spacious lobby, brand new guestrooms for 2012, a new restaurant and bar and all new fitness center by Precor along with an expanded business center,we have everything you need to insure a pleasant and productive stay. Best of all, you can walk to more than 20 different restaurants and nearly 100 shops at Cameron Village(a historic, upscale, outdoor walking mall), ride the train, paddleboats or play on the playground at the all new Pullen Park or take advantage of all the businesses and restaurants on Hillsborough Street across from NC State University's campus-each of these is less than .5 miles from the hotel. Come see why Raleigh was again listed as 'One of the best cities to live and work in' by Forbes Magazine in 2012 and why the all new Doubletree by Hilton Raleigh Brownstone University is the best place to stay to be in the center of it all; and please don't forget that parking and internet are always free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Raleigh Brownstone - University Hotel Raleigh
Holiday Inn Brownstone
Holiday Inn Raleigh
Raleigh Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.