We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1707 Hillsborough Street, Raleigh, NC 27605   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #26 of 83 Hotels in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Things did not start well with a surly staff member checking us in a nd basically went downhill form there. We were there for a week and I wished we had moved hotels as it was one of the worst hotels I have stayed in for some time. The staff were rude apart from the charming Sharnee in the restaurant and Leticia in Housekeeping and completely uninterested in guests. Check out was worse than check in with an argument about receiving a receipt for the payment of the rooms as "it was paid for by a 3rd party and therefore will not be the same price!!!!". The woman had obviously never heard of the maxim that the customer is always right and it just capped off a very unpleasant stay. The room was not very pleasant, the pillows stunk, the wifi sucked and the most irritating thing was after travelling for a week previously we arrive don a Friday to be told that there was no laundry in the weekends. I have never heard of no laundry available in a hotel before - ever in any country I have visited! I was told that we would have to wait 2 days and even then it might not be possible. The food in the restaurant and room service was barely acceptable. The breakfast was pitiful and expensive for what it was and after day one we avoided the scrambled eggs as they had obviously been sitting there for a very long time. My recommendation is to avoid this place at all costs - I will be for sure as will all my colleagues.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share you review. Will most certainly pass along your positive comments to Sharnee and Leticia. Certainly regret that your overall experience was less than stellar. I will share your experience with our staff and look for opportunities for improvement. The laundry that we were using during your stay does not process laundry on weekends and as a result of you review we now have an alternative laundry

Warmest regards,
Bill Winn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    165
    102
    44
    15
See reviews for
150
75
21
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Overall I was disappointed with this hotel. Bathrooms have no counter space at all. Faucet in vanity had such a low flow rate that it took 15 seconds to fill a small glass of water. I tested it at home and it should take around 3 seconds so I wasn't just imagining this. Tankless toilet has a truck stop feel to it. Elevators need to be updated. Check in agent seemed like he couldn't care less that I was there. Not a terrible place, but no nicer than a new Fairfield or Springhill which would cost a decent amount less.

Beds were pretty good and a good location are about all I can say positive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

You can put lipstick on a pig but its still a pig. The individuals rating this hotel high must have never been to a good Doubletree or other similar level hotels. As other older hotels converted to a Doubletree hotel this redo falls short. They haven't even trained the staff to fake friendly let alone be effective at their responsibilities. Whether its the poor beds, loud cooling system, poor key entry system, or the bug bites that I came home with, this is a bad hotel at a good location. The price is also unrealistic for what you get. Try anywhere else first .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for posting your review. We are excited about being part of the DoubleTree by Hilton brand and are working hard to meet and beat those expections Your comments offer us challenges which we welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is by far the best hotel experience I have had. I had to secure scores of rooms for a family reunion of close to 100 people coming from as far north as Mass. and as far south as Fla. From the very beginning the hotel staff was very accommodating allowing me to make adjustments throughout the process. They worked with me to make sure I had meeting space for my Family throughout the weekend. They also worked with me to ensure we were able to feed everyone during the weekend. The staff was friendly and professional and the hotel rooms were great. The family reunion was great in large part because of the hospitality of the hotel. Kudos.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bill_winn, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Sharif D, Glad to hear you and your family had a Great Weekend! We really enjoyed having such a fun lovely group at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Booked a king suite through Amex Travel. Were told we were upgraded at check in. The room we were given was a deluxe king room--not a suite. Our party was a party of three and the room provided only a single bed. We booked a suite for the extra space and bed. The room rate for the "upgrade" was actually $20 cheaper a night than the suite. Called Amex Travel, which is a rebranded Travelocity btw, and they promised to work with the hotel to refund the difference in room rate if no other accommodation could be made. They got the run around from the front desk, who told them to talk to the manager and was apparently never available. When we discussed with the front desk directly, we were informed there are only 5 suites in the entire hotel, all were unavailable, and that room types are not guaranteed but are subject to availability. It's a bait and switch, really.

The hotel itself has some age even with the recent renovations. Bathroom commode and tub are obviously original and are not updated. The commode is a standard public commode that you find in rest stops and gas stations. Taller people will find it hard to fit either in the tub, as it is a bit small, or the shower, as the ceiling is quite low. The deluxe rooms feature a dark marble tile but also cracked caulking. Furniture was fairly standard, and for being new, showed some wear on its edges, but typical of most hotels. Deluxe rooms come with 2 bottles of water, a bottle of diet coke, and a bottle of coke daily; marble tile in the bathroom; and apparently upgraded pillows for about a $20 premium over the standard room rate. The floor's ice machine did not produce ice during our stay.

Location is convenient and probably the property's best feature. Minutes from downtown Raleigh and colleges. Getting around by car or bike is a pleasant experience.

We did not take advantage of the onsite restaurant.

Overall just a very average hotel. Not a typical Doubletree. Our experience pushes the rating from average to poor. One of us had to sleep on a rollaway that took up all available floor space in the room and the front desk seemed unwilling to care. We never received satisfaction from the hotel nor Amex Travel. We would probably recommend the Midtown or Crabtree area hotels over this.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are not worth the premium charged. Be aware when booking a suite that you very like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel when visiting from Maryland to attend a funeral. The base price of $170, senior discount, was too much for the quality received. The room was too dark, even with the drapes open and all the lights on. The toilet did not have a tank or other fixture to cover the pipes and it seemed like a public restroom toilet. We were not offered any assistance with our luggage. The best thing about the hotel was the location to where we had to go and the delicious cookies provided free of charge upon check in. Will not stay here again! This is along the lines of a Holiday Inn, why change the name?!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Location is very close to NC State but depending on where you are going at NC State you may still want to drive. The beds were the best part of the hotel. Nice mattress and comforter.

The bathroom was very dated and the vanity was so small. There wasn't enough space to comfortably fit a flat iron or anything else. Also, the parking lot is very narrow and cramped.

This place is ok but definitely nothing special. It is close to NC State and restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University

Address: 1707 Hillsborough Street, Raleigh, NC 27605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Raleigh
#19 Romantic Hotel in Raleigh
#23 Business Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly remodeled Doubletree by Hilton Raleigh - Brownstone University. Whether you are visiting for business at North Carolina State University (2 blocks), the Research Triangle Park(8 miles), the new Raleigh Convention Center and Downtown Business District(1.5 miles), or you're here for a leisurely stay to attend an event at the RBC Center, Time Warner Pavilion at Walnut Creek, Progress Energy Center for the Performing Arts, State Fairgrounds, or a visit to one of our three museums in downtown Raleigh (Art, Science, History), we can offer you the best balance of location, convenience, and value. With features like a new, modern spacious lobby, brand new guestrooms for 2012, a new restaurant and bar and all new fitness center by Precor along with an expanded business center,we have everything you need to insure a pleasant and productive stay. Best of all, you can walk to more than 20 different restaurants and nearly 100 shops at Cameron Village(a historic, upscale, outdoor walking mall), ride the train, paddleboats or play on the playground at the all new Pullen Park or take advantage of all the businesses and restaurants on Hillsborough Street across from NC State University's campus-each of these is less than .5 miles from the hotel. Come see why Raleigh was again listed as 'One of the best cities to live and work in' by Forbes Magazine in 2012 and why the all new Doubletree by Hilton Raleigh Brownstone University is the best place to stay to be in the center of it all; and please don't forget that parking and internet are always free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Raleigh Brownstone - University Hotel Raleigh
Holiday Inn Brownstone
Holiday Inn Raleigh
Raleigh Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.