We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far the worst customer service I've ever experienced” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Raleigh

Save Saved
You added Wingate by Wyndham Raleigh to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Raleigh
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2610 Westinghouse Blvd, Capitol Blvd/Westinghouse Blvd, Raleigh, NC 27604   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #34 of 80 hotels in Raleigh
Dallas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“By far the worst customer service I've ever experienced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2006

Average rooms at best, not much better than a super 8 or motel 6 but with a desk and chair. Hot tub was broken and was told they were waiting for a part. Flying Bugs in the room and absolutely the worst customer service I've ever experienced in my life, the staff needs a course in customer service 101. I would not recommend it, LOOK ELSEWHERE!

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    104
    63
    20
    13
See reviews for
101
43
29
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2006

This place is a notch above hotels such as Days Inn, Ramada, and the like. It's comparable to a Fairfield by Marriott, aimed at business travelers or families wanting something a little better than average but considerably less expensive than true business class or luxury hotels. This location featured clean, decent sized rooms. The wireless and wired free internet was convenient. Small fridge and microwave also came in handy. My only issues with this hotel were: the mattress seemed a bit cheap and floppy; the pillows were also thin and insufficient to prop up and watch TV. Also, while they have an outdoor pool and indoor whirlpool, the whirlpool heater was broken during my entire stay. I heard several guests grumbling about this, so I was not the only one who was annoyed about this. There were some other minor problems, such as the rear entrances not working, so if you went out to the pool, you couldn't get back in and had to walk all the way around the hotel. The safe in the room didn't work and the front desk person admitted not knowing what to do about it. All in all, with some work this could be a very good hotel. If you just need a place to stay for a couple of nice, it's more than adequate. It's convenient to everything. If you want more of a luxury experience, go elsewhere, though.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2006

My husband and I took a weekend trip to Raleigh to check out the area (and surrounding cities) to see if this is a place we'd like to live if my husband got a job transfer to the Research Triangle Park.

We stayed at the Wingate Inn for three nights. The weekend was very quiet, but come Monday afternoon, a lot of business travelers had checked into this hotel. This is a great place for business as well as family travelers, and not a peep was heard from anyone even on their busy night.

This is in a very good location to a lot of restaurants, grocery stores, a shopping mall that was recently built, and while not very close to downtown Raleigh, it is only a few miles away. Also, it is close to 440 (and for any New Englanders who love Dunkin Donuts coffee like we do, there is a DD very close by).

Continental breakfast was the same every day -- hot and cold cereals, mini-muffins, English muffins, bagels, pre-made french toast, mini cinnamon rolls, and danish. Coffe and juice were available also, and I was told that the coffee machine operates all night and all day. It was free, so I can't complain.

The only reason I gave this 4 out of 5 'stars' is because the refrigerator was more of an icebox. We had gone to a Kroger's to pick up some deli meats and cheese for ourselves, put it in the fridge, and the next morning, they were frozen solid.

Overall, we were very pleased with the hotel, the staff, and the location. We would definitely stay there again should our travel plans take us to Raliegh.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2006

Convenient location off 440, outside the city but easy access to downtown. Near good selection of food. Bfast was good. Free internet access. Clean, comfortable, spacious, and quiet room. I would not want a room at the end of the halls (stair well doors) or in the middle of 2nd floor overlooking atrium (noisy). Microwave/fridge in room. $76 a night was a good deal. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2005

I stayed at the Wingate Inn-Raleigh for 2 nights. The first night they had happy hour with free ribs, chicken, and shrimp from TGIFriday's as well as free beer and alcohol. My room was very clean and the service was excellent. And free high speed internet is a big plus. I plan on staying there the next time I go to Raleigh.

  • Stayed January 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2005

Nice, clean hotel located out of town, but a straight shot into downtown Raleigh. Also convenient to the very lovely Wake Forest area. The room was fairly large and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was perhaps not quite as good as those at other chains, but it was still quite welcome and OK. All in all, a good deal for a nice place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2004

I travel frequently on business and Wingate Inns is one of my favorites because of the excellent business facilities, free in-room high speed internet, pool and whirlpool and breakfast. I stayed at this particular Wingate in July 2004. It had the most friendly, helpful staff of any I have stayed at. Obviously this particular Wingate has excellent management. They are remodelling soon and it does not even need it. That shows to me that they are willing to re-invest in their facilities before they get overly used. A couple of the exercise machines were broken but this pales in comparison to the excellent facilities and top-notch service. I recommend Carver's Restaurant nearby. The food is outstanding. I was very pleased with this hotel and would recommend it for business travelers and families both.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Raleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Raleigh

Address: 2610 Westinghouse Blvd, Capitol Blvd/Westinghouse Blvd, Raleigh, NC 27604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Raleigh 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Raleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Raleigh Hotel Raleigh
Wingate Hotel Raleigh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Raleigh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.