We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Holiday Inn Express” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   840 US Hwy 64 West, Plymouth, NC 27962   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Plymouth
Horseheads, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Average Holiday Inn Express”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel has been recently updated and the facilities are very nice.
We needed to use the guest laundry, but the hotel was out of change for the machines and there was no change machine. We tried to fool the soda machine into giving us some quarters, but the bill reader on it was broken. The check in process was also very long and there was quite a line waiting when we finally got our keys.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear steve_bills,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please allow us to apologize for the challenges you had with our Laundry machines. We also apologize for the experience you had during check-in. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    21
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
16
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stopped here on the way to the SwanQuarter Ferry. It's a quaint little town but we were on a mission so we never got to visit it much. The hotel was good and clean, with a decent hot breakfast available. The night clerk sent us off to a restaurant that served the best fried chicken! Again, good spot for an overnight.

Room Tip: We were on floor one and had no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANKLIN, VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Genealogy drew me to Plymouth, North Carolina on April 23, 2013, the origin of my husband's mother's family--and I needed a pleasant place to stay overnight. I checked the Internet the night before, and was surprised to find a possibility that the hotel might not have a vacancy--so, I called the hotel direct--and was greeted by a very pleasant young woman, Audra, who alluded to the hotel being busy due to a nearby paper mill shutdown. She very kindly checked for an available room--and found one that suited me nicely. She was still at the desk when I checked in the next day and was, again, very helpful and accommodating. Since I was a lady traveling alone, she was sensitive to my situation, and suggested a room that was less vulnerable. When I asked, she also suggested a good restaurant of which I was unaware. The hotel had every amenity I could have wanted, and matches any you would find in large cities! I was able to use my laptop in my room to check my email. My stay was, indeed, quiet, pleasant and comfortable. It was "southern hospitality with a smile"!

Room Tip: The second floor rooms on the back side of the hotel have small balconies with chairs--and can be ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I can not say enough about this hotel, the manager Diane, her staff Amanda and Victoria. After spending a terrible day driving from Florida we were to be in Nag's Head, but a bridge was out and we stayed in Plymouth. The hotel is going through a rejuvenation which in no way effect our stay. From the moment we arrived we were treat exceptionally well. Amanda, the front desk clerk was polite and very helpful. Later in the evening we had occasion to speak to Victoria who directed us to a place to get something to eat, again very polite and helpful. The next morning I spoke to Diane who is the manager to get info about booking a hotel in Nags Head, and how to get around the detour from the bridge being out. She phoned ahead, booked the hotel for us and then called me with the reservation number, printed out a map and explained to us what we would see along the way. I had just had a bad experience with another hotel, that as yet, will go unmentioned. Diane went more than the extra mile for me and my daughter, she is a lady with a lot of "common sense". IF YOU ARE CONSIDERING USING THIS HOTEL I GIVE IT A 5 STAR RATING!!!!

Room Tip: I am sure any room would be great, and if it wasn't the staff would accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was the ONLY nice place in Plymouth, NC I could find and I was quite surprised at how clean and comfortable the facility was! GREAT breakfast - nice front desk attendant - VERY comfy bed! I was very impressed - Thank you!

Room Tip: UPSTAIRS rooms in the back you get a balcony!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
The staff of the Holiday Inn Express is so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We take pride in offering our guest the best stay possible. Thank you very taking time to write a review!We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had a lovely and pleasant stay at the hotel.The price was reasonable, the was suite clean, and the Hotel Associate at the desk, Ms. Felita, was friendly, available and helpful during our weekend stay. Looking forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: The King Suites are large and roomy, and has a small kitchenett and refrigerator. Ask for Felita...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review and Felita appreciates being recognized, as well. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

When the outerbanks are fully booked this is THE first decent hotel you will encounter. Despite THE re-decorating and renovation, it was à pleasant hotel to stay in. Staff apologized for all the construction work which never really annoyed us. Friendly staff, chain restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay We are the first franchised hotel you reach coming from the Outer Banks, which makes us an excellant stopping point going or coming from the Beach.
I hope that we see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Address: 840 US Hwy 64 West, Plymouth, NC 27962
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Plymouth Hotel is conveniently located within 1 mile of the Roanoke River on Hwy 64 West. We are able to accommodate many travelers who enjoy a variety of outdoor adventures! Historic Plymouth boasts many Nationally Recognized points of interest to Civil War enthusiasts. For those of you with an appetite for seafood, just a few miles drive can deliver you to a large variety of fresh shellfish and other delicacies. The outdoor ventures available in the area include boating, fishing, hunting, and also we have local bird watching trails available in the area. We have a variety of restaurants all within a mile that include Mexican, Italian, Seafood and Good Country Home Cookin. Bojangles is adjacent to our hotel. Nearby cities include Greenville & Elizabeth City. We are a pet friendly Hotel! Hotel features include free wireless internet, free local calls, Express Start complimentary hot food breakfast bar with many choices to choose from, such as cheese omelettes, bacon, sausage, hot biscuits and of course our world famous best tasting cinnamon rolls. We have wireless internet set up for guests use in our office center as well as a fitness center and outdoor swimming pool. We decorate our public areas in celebration of all the Holidays throughout the year! Cookies and candy are always available to our guests to satisfy their sweet tooth. Visit Plymouth, NC and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Plymouth
Holiday Inn Plymouth
Plymouth Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.