We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED OUR YURT STAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toe River Lodge & Cafe

Toe River Lodge & Cafe
4716 S US Hwy 19E, Plumtree, NC 28664
828 765-9696
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 restaurants in Plumtree
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Café, Winery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Vance Toe River Lodge is a 5 Bedroom Bed & Breakfast, Restaurant, Winery, & Campground, and operator of Plumtree Canopy Tours. We offer Cabins, Yurts, Private rooms and a variety of camping. Our gift shop features clothing, pottery, unique gifts & a wide variety of wine apparel & accessories. Our regular season is from May through October with off-season packages. Private dinner party options available through December and winter packages through April. Visit our restaurant, winery & store Wed – Sat 11am-2:30pm, Fri & Sat nights 5-8pm for casual fine dining, & Sun 10:30am-2pm for our locally famous Brunch. We specialize in weddings, corporate dinners, & other private functions throughout the year. Visit our campground to stay in a yurt, private room, campsite, or our group facility. Pets are allowed at campsites, primitive cabins, & yurts only. Lodging ranges from $14 to $190 a night. Amenities include swimming pool, 18-hole disc golf course, trout pond, horseshoe pits, hiking & biking trails, access to the North Toe River, billiards & more.
Salisbury, North Carolina
1 review
“LOVED OUR YURT STAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We arrived at the Toe River Lodge on Friday 05/24...upon getting there we were quickly blessed to meet Eedie and Will (sorry if the spelling isn't correct). We headed to the Brewery to taste a few beers! The Nut Brown Ale was my favorite but the IPA was very delicious as well! Our YURT was 1 mileish from the Lodge so we followed Will to our home for the weekend. Everything felt so right about staying here as we pulled in the driveway...it was a very quite location on the hillside of the mountain...The bed was very comfortable...we slept very well...
We video'd our ride from the Lodge to the YURT...it is the most precious memory and we've watched it a 1000 times... The campground was very clean, the hospitality was out of this world and we WILL be back. Probably very soon...I'm already out of my Nut Brown :( I recommend this to anyone who loves to camp!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    113
    23
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, Nc
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“2nd time returning and will be back again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We really enjoyed this past weekend at the lodge. We were delighted that we had snow which just enhanced the experience. Always felt welcomed and appreciated as guests. The family does an amazing job to make you feel at home. The food was spectacular and enjoyed the wine and beer tastings. Met some great people and was a bit sad to leave. Will be returning again without a doubt.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“It Isn't Easy To Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We would have never found if we did not know some local folks. The food was good, but not outstanding. Service was kind of hit and miss. No problem serving ourselves, but table service for drinks was not very good. The staff seems to have a good time talking to each other?

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lunch and a beer, okay two beers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

As a professional brewer, I thought it necessary to stop by with my girlfriend for lunch and a couple of beers. Will and his wife (sorry I didn't catch her name) people you'd love to have a life long friends. They were very open, friendly and accommodating. We were seated upstairs by a window where we ordered a stout and a cream ale. For lunch we ordered a bowl of homemade Beef and Vegetable soup made with grass-fed beef from a farm down the road and fresh vegetables grown by Will and his family. We also had a hamburger with the beef coming from the same farm. Let's just say that while I wouldn't normally order Beef & Vegetable soup, it was the best meal I've had in ages and that shouldn't say ANYTHING about my eating habits. We are well traveled and almost consider ourselves professional foodies. Mid-way through, we ordered a pint of Will's American Pale Ale and another stout for my g/f. With beer in hand, we got a quick tour through the Blind Squirrel Brewery which is considered a nano-brewery. Very nice approachable beers by even the most picky of beer drinkers.

Toe River has a lot to offer, most of which we didn't take the time to see but they include the brewery, a nano-winery downstairs, a Christmas Tree farm, campground, B&B, vegetable garden and greenhouse and retail store with an emphasis on frisbee golf. I look forward to visiting again and plan to share a bottle of Pozharnik with Will. Thanks for making our visit special.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William Y, Manager at Toe River Lodge & Cafe, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thanks for the review Phil. It was a pleasure to have you and Danette in and hope to see you again on your next visit to the high country! I still want your Imperial Stout recipe! Have a great Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Extremely rude owner!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

To begin with we made reservations the week before our trip and the women on the phone was very nice, and everyone looked forward to staying there. After settling in, the owner deliberately started an argument with us. We left due to his sheer ignorance and rude behavior.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Toe River Lodge & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toe River Lodge & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.